More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

SSX On Tour Member Review for the Xbox

schimmel By:
schimmel
11/09/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA Big 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Violence

What do these ratings mean?

SSX is back with it's new installment, On Tour. It features the same classic SSX gameplay, but has been tweaked to maximize the experience for everyone.
THE GAMEPLAY:
The gameplay is the same as all the other SSX games out there. You can choose between Race and Freestyle, however there have been some slight alterations. There are now compatitions as well as freelance events, such as 1-on-1 races to the bottom of the mountain, or 1-on-1 trick challenges. There has been one huge thing that EA Sports BIG has improved on, and that's the feeling of speed. When you are racing down the mountain at huge speeds, you actually feel like the speed you are going at is an actual speed. The screen blurs, and things actually look as if they're going faster. The controls remain the same for all three systems, but the Uber Tricks no longer exist. There are now new tricks called "Monster Tricks", and I personally believe that they have been upgraded for the better. You now have the ablility to tweak your "Monster Tricks" in order to make them amazingly crazy-looking.
THE MOUNTAIN INTERFACE:
The moutnain interface between events is similar to that of SSX 3, the only real change being that the mountain is a lot smaller. This does not, however, change the insane areas of the moutnain in the slightest. There is one area named "Mind the Gap", which has to be my favorite. This is because you can catch a huge rail that can amount up to a 500,000 point combo, before you get a combo bonus. Other than that, the loading times have been greatly improved.
CREATE-A-PLAYER?
In this game's "story" mode, you have the ability to create and customize a player. You do everything to them, including deciding how fat they are, to what clothes they wear. You can also choose whether they are a snowboarder or a skiier. I have one of each, and each one has their own advantages.
SOUNDTRACK:
This is by far the best soundtrack on a sports game ever made. They have everything from metal to hip-hop. No matter what your music choice, it's on this game.
VERDICT:
If you are a fan of the SSX series, definately pick this game up and give it a whirl. It will provide you with hours of entertainment, and you are guarenteed to love it.


More information about SSX On Tour
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1641 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution