More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Stacked Member Review for the Xbox

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
12/05/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sim 
PLAYERS 1- 10 
PUBLISHER Myelin Media 
DEVELOPER 5000ft 
RELEASE DATE  
T What do these ratings mean?

I have been pondering what I should write about next for a while, with school winding down and a job on the horizon, I figured I might as well revisit a few older games before I do my massive review on Twilight Princess, which will be done when I actually finish the game. I decided to start with my favorite poker simulator, Stacked, With Daniel Negraneu.

While some people complained that my reviews are to long I feel like I deserve to give authentic and detailed reviews, even if the game is somewhat obsolete at this stage in a consoles life. And for the x-box version of Stacked, thats exactly what has happened. Regardless though, if you have an elder X-box and you like poker, this is the best game on the market for you.

Graphics-

For a poker game, the Graphics are not to bad, but not to good either. The character models, although few and far between, look great, as do their differences, which, like the character models, are very few. Everything else, however, looks kind of dreary. The cards are not the best animated, the chip stacks are non-existant, and the game has 4 predendered backgrounds to it's name. Not the strongest here, but it is certianly better then other poker games out there.

Final Score- C

Gameplay-

For a poker game, Stacked has perhaps the most sophisticated A.I in it's arsenal. The infamous Poki A.I actually adjusts to YOUR style of play, making the comupter controlled counterparts a formidable force. They will check raise, bluff on occasion, and trap you, depending on your style. The professional players in the game, from Evelyn Ng, David Williams, and Negraneu himself are just as vicious, falling into no pattern at all, and always changing their styles.

The Computer players follow 8 different archetypes, from Rocks to Fish to Maniacs to Pros being the 4 extremes. You have to figure out the play style by what the computer says and by their betting patterns, like real poker players. To help you, you are given odds during hands, which do help somewhat, in terms of finding out pot odds and learning how to bet accordingly. The game doubles as a teacher, and has a few movies starring Negraneu, which teacn you things from the hand ranks, to pot odds, to how to bluff properly.

And I will be honest, my game improved quite a bit after player Stacked. I went from being a passive-loose player to an aggressive-loose player, which wins a lot online, over 60,000 in the play chip section, and about $500 in real cash. So the game does work on that front as a teacher.

Unfortanatly, despite the awesome A.I and the experience you get from it, the game suffers form two flaws. The interface is really clunky, with you stopping acting to see your placing in a tourney or the stats of the game, even the options are kind of inacessable without stopping the action.The other problem is that there is only holdem in the game. It would of been nice to add some Stud, Omaha, ill even take Pinapple or Tahoe.But, as it is, we only have limit and no limit holdem, which makes it somewhat redundant, unless you love holdem so much you don't mind playing it for hours on end against A.I opponents in your basement.

Overall, room for improvement, but a major step in the right direction.

Final Score-  B-

Sound-

The sound in the game is virtually nonexistant. The cards and chips are all ok, but the voicesd are annoying and redundant. Music is bland to. But, I guess sound is not a priority in a poker game.

Final Score- D+

Overall-

Stacked with Negraneu is perhaps the best game on the market in terms of a console poker game (right next to WSOP TOC, which is really not that bad either.) That being said, it will only appeal to true poker fans and young adults or teens who want to improve their game 2 fold if they play. If you like poker, pick this up, it's the best game of the bunch for sure.

Final Score- C

Overall Score- C+


More information about Stacked
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 2538 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution