More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

True Crime: New York City Member Review for the Xbox

XboxLiveLover By:
XboxLiveLover
12/13/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Luxoflux 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

The Deceitful True Crimes of New York

By: XboxLiveLover
December 13th, 2005

True Crime New York City had potential but is overruled with many flaws involving the game play.

At first glance, True Crime New York City looked somewhat decent, yes it is similar to the Grand Theft Auto series but it is like chalk and cheese since you are on the law enforcement side and not opposed to, like in all of the GTA games.

Honestly, this game had potential; it had a concrete voice acting crew, with stars such as Avery Waddell, Christopher Walken and Laurence Fishburne.

But I think that Luxoflux/Activision should have spent more of their money on the game rather than paying for the voice-actors time.

The game play is very frustrating; everything seems to be all in slow-motion and it just does not make it any fun to play and you can never get into the game. Then there is the very bizarre vehicle physics, someone really screwed up on this part because apparently you can just get nudge at the back end of your vehicle and you will go spinning uncontrollably into parked cars. Then from there you are launched in the opposite direction from the parked cars where you with any luck hope for this ridiculous rollercoaster ride to end, of course running over a few pedestrians in the process.

After that there are the controller issues, where you have to press a bunch of buttons just to arrest a bad guy. Now I am not saying that this is a particularly bad thing but listen, if I wanted to go crazy pressing buttons, I would have bought Tony Hawk American Wasteland instead. Way too much work to achieve simple goals.

Followed by that there is the wicked frame rate issues that just adds to the feeling of why am I wasting my time with this game. The game was frustrating enough; this did not help me try to enjoy my experience with the game.

All in all, True Crimes New York City is a game you just want to forget about and stay away from. Unless you are hardcore Christopher Walken or Laurence Fishburne fan then there is just no point on even renting this game. Like I said before, this game did have potential, but the unrealism in the game play just ruins the story, the solid voice-acting and most importantly, the fun in the game.

What’s right:
Voice actors Christopher Walken and Laurence Fishburne.
 
What’s wrong:
Too many to list.


More information about True Crime: New York City
 
D- Revolution report card
Views: 3903 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus