More Reviews
REVIEWS Dying Light Review
Developer Techland addresses zombies again in a new light.

Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES Developer Spotlight: Dontnod Entertainment
The developer for Remember Me is quietly becoming a force on the indie scene.

PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

True Crime: New York City Member Review for the Xbox

XboxLiveLover By:
XboxLiveLover
12/13/05
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Luxoflux 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

The Deceitful True Crimes of New York

By: XboxLiveLover
December 13th, 2005

True Crime New York City had potential but is overruled with many flaws involving the game play.

At first glance, True Crime New York City looked somewhat decent, yes it is similar to the Grand Theft Auto series but it is like chalk and cheese since you are on the law enforcement side and not opposed to, like in all of the GTA games.

Honestly, this game had potential; it had a concrete voice acting crew, with stars such as Avery Waddell, Christopher Walken and Laurence Fishburne.

But I think that Luxoflux/Activision should have spent more of their money on the game rather than paying for the voice-actors time.

The game play is very frustrating; everything seems to be all in slow-motion and it just does not make it any fun to play and you can never get into the game. Then there is the very bizarre vehicle physics, someone really screwed up on this part because apparently you can just get nudge at the back end of your vehicle and you will go spinning uncontrollably into parked cars. Then from there you are launched in the opposite direction from the parked cars where you with any luck hope for this ridiculous rollercoaster ride to end, of course running over a few pedestrians in the process.

After that there are the controller issues, where you have to press a bunch of buttons just to arrest a bad guy. Now I am not saying that this is a particularly bad thing but listen, if I wanted to go crazy pressing buttons, I would have bought Tony Hawk American Wasteland instead. Way too much work to achieve simple goals.

Followed by that there is the wicked frame rate issues that just adds to the feeling of why am I wasting my time with this game. The game was frustrating enough; this did not help me try to enjoy my experience with the game.

All in all, True Crimes New York City is a game you just want to forget about and stay away from. Unless you are hardcore Christopher Walken or Laurence Fishburne fan then there is just no point on even renting this game. Like I said before, this game did have potential, but the unrealism in the game play just ruins the story, the solid voice-acting and most importantly, the fun in the game.

What’s right:
Voice actors Christopher Walken and Laurence Fishburne.
 
What’s wrong:
Too many to list.


More information about True Crime: New York City
 
D- Revolution report card
Views: 3944 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus