More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Alan Wake: American Nightmare Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
05/31/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Microsoft Game Studios 
DEVELOPER Remedy Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Interesting new story, fun new weapons and enemies, arcade mode is fun, still looks good

The Bad: Same three areas are repeated too many times, very short, story lacks substance, new characters are uninteresting, too easy

Being based off an episode of Night Springs that is written by Alan Wake, this little adventure takes you through a time loop (x3) and Alan Wake's physically manifested dark side...or is it? You get to know what happened to all the characters from the original game, and the story is delivered very nicely with a a decent ending, but there are no plot twists like in the last game so the story is a little weak in terms of substance.

The game plays exactly the same and if you are a fan of the last game you will be right at home. The game plays a little more like an open world game, minus the world. There are three areas that you visit three times (yawn) and each time is shorter and shorter, but the objectives are exactly the same. I get there is a time loop but why do we have to do everything three times? At least there's more guns to play with and new enemies to shoot. You can step up to fully automatic weapons now with an uzi and assault rifle. You get a carbine, 9mm semi-auto pistol, and a sawed-off shotgun. You can't get some weapons until you find enough manuscript pages which are now shown as question mark blips on your mini-map.

The enemies are the same except for a few new ones. Flocks of birds now turn into creepy vampire looking demons, and there are huge giant guys with table saws that can kill you in one hit. I found the game much easier this time around because there are ammo boxes everywhere that refill you all the way, plus extra ammo lying almost every 20 feet or so. Batteries don't run down nearly as quick as they used to, and to be honest, through the whole game I rarely swapped a single battery out of the flashlight except toward the end. The short length of the game actually helps counter this a little and makes it a bit forgiving.

There is an arcade mode that puts you through waves of enemies with various ammo and weapons scattered everywhere. This is fun to rack up a score and kill time, but other than that there is really no reason to go back to the game. The visuals look great on the PC with the new engine from the original game that uses DirectX 10 lighting effects. I did find the voice acting a little poor for the new characters this time around who are also not very interesting.

Overall, this game is really for the fans of the last one, and new comers won't really understand the story because of the constant mentions from the last game. Think of this as a side story because technically it is. The game looks good, plays good, and has an interesting story, but it way too easy, short, and overall repetitive due to playing the same three areas three times over. For the small price it is well worth it thanks to the fun arcade mode.

(Based on PC version)


More information about Alan Wake: American Nightmare
 
Alan Wake: American Nightmare
fullfullfullemptyempty
Views: 581 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution