More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Assassin's Creed Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
03/18/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: The best graphics seen in any game so far, superb story and voice acting, simple yet satisfying combat, great free-running engine, crowd AI works

The Bad: The game doesn't have an ending (as in it just ends), gets repetitive after awhile

The first thing I want to say is that the game is getting such low scores due to the game being so repetitive. The game consists of constant information gathering by helping your fellow assassin informers either assassinate targets or collect flags, pickpocket people, interrogate people, climb up on high points to "synchronize" your memory (more on that later), saving citizens from the guards heresy and so on. To me this didn't get repetitive because everything is free form and unscripted.
                           
                    The game consists of connecting cities and in each city you can free-fun and climb ANY building and ANY wall. That's right, no looking for glowing ledges or vines just run and run like a mad man to run from guards (you have to loose their line of sight and hide in either a scholar crowd, a bench, stacks of hay etc.) The story is very interesting. In the "real world" you play Desmond Miles who is captured to due a government experiment to use his ancestors DNA in his blood to change the past. You get put on a machine called the Animus and you must go back to 1191 B.C. and play as Altair who is Miles' ancestor. You must stop the crusades and the Templars. Along the way there are great plot twists and this keeps the story fresh. The voice acting is superb and even has some great humor.

                    The combat system is awesome, while it's simple it's still very satisfying with great animations. The graphics are the best EVER seen in a next-gen game with tons of detail and depth in every blade of grass and stitch in every piece of clothing. The game is breath taking (especially on HDTVs). The game's main attraction is the crowd AI where if you run through a crowd you'll stumble and fall and the people will call for guards. This determines whether the people help you escape and hide or hinder you. The only frustrating thing about the game is that the game doesn't want to respond too well when running from guards. Other than that this is one of the best games I've ever played and you're bound to love it.


More information about Assassin's Creed
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 929 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution