More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

BioShock Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
BlueBomber88
11/28/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter / RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER Irrational Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Good evening, I'm Blue Bomber and I'm here to ask you a question.  Do first person shooters have to be mundane?

Yes, says the man over at Ghost Recon, it has to be realistic.

Yes, says the man over at Call of Duty, it has to be about World War II.

Yes, says the man over at Perfect Dark Zero, it has to suck.

I refused all of these answers.  I chose... BioShock.

What makes this game the best XBox360 game next to Halo or Gears is just INNOVATION.  Remember, good games make you the person.  You are the man in Bioshock.  The game's graphics are well, pretty and also subtlly terrifying.  The music is straight from the era, and just the overall quality is amazing.

But that's okay, but what makes the game great is how you play.  You can choose to kill or save the Little Sisters... your actions will reflect how your game ends and how it turns out.  And the Big Daddy.  There are so many ways to kill it.  Do you hack into the machinery around it and use the turrets to kill the big boy?  Or are you more of a "get-up-close-with-your-rocket-and-pray-you-take-it-to-hell-with-you" kind of person?  Or are you like me, one who just waits until he walks into a pool of water and just let loose with the power of electricity?

The thing is, Rapture will take you for a ride.  The game is so immersive and it's definitely a canadate for Greatest Shooter of All Time Not Named Halo or Half-Life.  And if you want to, you can make BIoShock the most involving game in your life.


More information about BioShock
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 667 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution