More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

BioShock Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Tucker_One_Half
10/23/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter / RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER Irrational Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

So, first time review.

Well, I've had Bioshock for a while, and I like it, I like it a lot.

Graphics
Not much to complain about, water textures are some of the best I have ever seen (yea, it's just water, but god damned its cool looking water), and the atmosphere is very creepy, great work on shadows and etc. Furthermore, great idea of a broken down utopia, the folks at 2K pulled it off with style. Very, dare I say it, Art Deco-ey . Also, I'm not sure if its just my brightness level on my T.V., but the game got so dark for me at some points that I couldn't tell where I was going.

Sound
Brilliant. Really, the mutterings of phsycopaths and the 60's music blend together in a twisted way. It's not that they use music to make a moment scary, they use the lack of it to horrify you.

Gameplay
Well, its fun, but not amazingly fun. The plasimd/weapon balancing works nicely, but I wish they could of taken plasmid customization into account, dunno how that might work, but it'd be cool as hell if it would. While most people I know complain about the lack of multiplayer, I dont think it would've been a good idea, let the people focus on the story, and its better than a half assed Splicers vs. Humans deathmatch knockoff with some plasmids in the mix. (Shadowrun). 

Story
I can't say much without giving it away, but its a great story with many twists, maybe a bit short, and a very unfullfilling Boss Battle. ( I think Cohen  was harder personally). 

My only complaints are that this didnt live up to the hype (not saying many games do), As the first taste of a Next-Gen experience, it was great, but as a geneticly enhanced free roaming off the walls horrorfest shooter, it failed.

But those Big Daddies are AWESOME


More information about BioShock
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 659 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution