More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

bit.Trip Presents Runner 2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
04/13/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Aksys Games 
DEVELOPER Gaijin Games 
RELEASE DATE  
E What do these ratings mean?

draw_image_26_02_13_12_57_54Publisher: Gaijin Games

Developer: Gaijin Games

Release Date: 2/26/2013

Rating: Teen

MSRP: $14.99

Also Available On

Xbox Logo

PS3 Logo

WiiU

MAC Logo

 

 

bar

The Good: Charming graphics, catchy soundtrack, smooth controls, well paced level design, checkpoints make the game more forgiving, lots to unlock

The Bad: Not enough unlockable characters, a few levels were hampered with design flaws

8-bit style games are growing in popularity and Bit.Trip has been delivering excellent games for quite a while now. Runner was my favorite in the series but was relentlessly hard, even early on. Runner 2 fixes these issues by making levels more fluid and by adding a checkpoint halfway through. The game is mostly the same, but with added obstacles and better graphics.

bittrip-runner-2retro01jpg-44227a

The game plays roughly the same as the last one. Watch Commander Video and his pals run to the right while you jump kick and dance your way to the end of the level. Some added obstacles are a four-way diamond that you need to press the corresponding button when you get to each corner. Another obstacle is a loop-de-loop that you use the right analog stick to follow your character as he runs inside. Various obstacles are introduced as the game progresses and by the end you need to be quick and have all these memorized as soon as they pop up. I actually never felt overwhelmed by having to remember too many abilities, it felt just right. Levels have you ducking, jumping, using your shield to block flying blocks, kicking stop signs, and even kicking some in the air as well as while sliding. The abilities are timed to a catchy 8-bit soundtrack that is even better and richer than the last game. As you move along there are gold bars to collect as well as red plus blocks that add track to the music as you move along.

These elements are what everyone loved in the first game and they stayed in this one, but the game is just more forgiving. Honestly it was more fun because I never even got to the second level in the first game. Runner 2 features bosses at the end of each level that are pretty fun and very challenging. There's a new path feature for levels that change the difficulty depending on which path you choose. Red and green arrows will point to which path is which, the red path usually has hidden chests that unlock costumes as well as Retro Cartridges. These 25 retro levels are actually in 8-bit like they were ripped straight from an NES game. Very charming and fun to play.

Runner_2

You are also scored by doing everything in the game. Dancing is one ability that adds 2,000 points with each move. I just found the whole game very addicting and couldn't put the controller down. Rarely did I find a spot where I was stuck and even rarer were occasion where the game's own design got in the way. I would fly by something so fast that I would die several times before realizing what was going on and what I had to do. The whole game is just super fun and challenging and very rewarding. If you get all the gold bars and the 4 red plus signs in the level you get to shoot yourself out of a cannon at a target to get a Perfect+ score. Very challenging but fun.

The graphics look amazing with each of the 5 levels being unique. My favorite was The Bit.Trip which was level 5. You can see other Bit.Trip games being played in the background as you run along. My biggest disappointment were the lack of extra characters. There are 5, but what about Super Meat Boy and other characters from the last game? I wanted more honestly. The PC version at least gets a little extra flair with depth of field and slightly better lighting effects. This is just one artistically stunning game.

runner-2

Overall, Runner 2 keeps what everyone loved in the last game and adds a lot more depth and more layers of fun while being more forgiving. There are lots to collect and a ton of challenges to complete while you play. There are a few levels that were hampered by their own design flaws, and I just wish there were more unlockable characters.
 

(Review based on PC version)

alienware


More information about bit.Trip Presents Runner 2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien
 
bit.Trip Presents Runner 2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien
fullfullfullfullhalf
Views: 2063 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution