More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Braid Member Review for the Xbox360

keepithowitis By:
keepithowitis
09/02/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Number None Inc. 
DEVELOPER Number None Inc. 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Language, Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Before I say anything, know that there are mixed feelings about Braid. This is undoubtedly an expensive investment, and it's not terribly replayable, but it is possibly the most innovative and satisfying game of the year. rnrnBraid's gameplay is seamless. The background is like a beautiful painting, the animated characters and baddies reminiscent of your favorite childhood cartoons. The levels weave into each other and tell an intricate story, and everything melts together as if it was crafted of decadent chocolate. I can't put this into words. You'll have to find out for yourself. rnThe animation of Braid is one of the best in an XBL Arcade game ever.rnrnBut this game isn't just looks. Braid is one of the most intelligent games, even for a puzzle game like it is, that has come out in a long time. Some of the puzzles will be apparent as soon as you set eyes on them, some will cause hours of agony and distress. But each puzzle tells a story. Not only does it fit with the world/physics, most of them have deeper meanings. The ending as well, is heart-rending. Really; I finished the game, sighed, layed down, and felt, ultimately, more satisfied than I ever have. Coming back and rewriting this review over half a year after finishing it, I still remember the feeling I got after watching the ending cutscene, playing through the incredible last level, and sinking satisfyingly back onto the ground as the final pieces of the puzzle came together.


More information about Braid
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1019 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus