More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Call of Duty 2 Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
04/26/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Infinity Ward 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Blood, Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Call_of_Duty_2_BoxPublisher: Activision

Developer: Infinity Ward

Release Date: 10/25/2005

Rating: Teen

MSRP: $49.99

Also Available On

Xbox Logo

MAC Logo

 

 

bar

The Good: Great production values, graphics look great, uses lesser told stories during the war

The Bad: Typical multiplayer, not very cinematic, objectives are repetitive and boring, highly linear, no gore, nothing new at all

All those World War II shooters we endured for an entire decade felt like a war on its own. Shooter after endless shooter bombarded our systems, and then there were the really bad ones in between the Call of Duty and Medal of Honor yearly releases. Call of Duty 2 was highly anticipated because it was the actual sequel to the award winning original. Does it stand out like the first game did? Is it full of cinematic finesse and finely nuanced mechanics? Not really.

There's not much of a story here because it's based off WWII. Black and white footage with a dull narrator telling you about different theaters of the war, then there's the typical journal entry during the load screen, nothing interesting at all, and even when the game came out I was sick of these WWII shooters. What does Call of Duty 2 build on? Nothing, it's just more of the same, but at least it has high production values and it does the same stuff right. The game has you following three different soldiers from the Russian, British, and American side. One thing I did like was that you get to play a different side of the Normandy beach storming and that's the Rangers. They climbed up the cliff side trying to shut down the German pill boxes and various artillery so our troops stopped getting slaughtered on the beachhead. Call of Duty 2 tries to tell the smaller stories in the war which is a nice change of pace.

1

The same weapons are here that you have shot a million times. Lee EnfieldM1 Garand, Mp40MP44, Sten, and various others. Of course not ALL WWII weapons are here, but I wanted to see some of the more obscure ones like the Browning or BAR. At this point in time it was just about better graphics and who's weapon textures looked the most realistic. Call of Duty 2 delivers on the visuals and was a benchmarker much like Crysis is now back in 2005/2006. It was one of the first game to support SLI and really pushed PCs and made you get those $500 graphics cards. It was a must have for PC owners, and was also a GPU seller. With that aside, the textures look great even today and the visuals really pop. The sound is great as well with gunfire chattering in the distance and soldiers yelling all around you. It may seem dated today, but you can really see how much the Call of Duty series hasn't evolved. There's striking similarities to the Modern Warfare series because it's all the same, shoot anything that moves.

Download Call of Duty 2  PC Game (www.Greedy-Gamers.com) (2)

The game can be pretty easy at times, I could just rush into a building and blow everyone away with one clip and survive. I still find it painful to know that grenade physics are still really bad and bounce around like rubber balls. There are various things I just really can't stand about these shooters and that's the lack of realism. When I shoot enemies blood doesn't even come out, where's the gore and violence? Brothers in Arms was the first WWII shooter to use this violence in the genre, but Call of Duty just feels like some sort of censored theme park ride.

callofduty_3

CoD2 had a huge multiplayer following, but sadly no one's online anymore. Even so, it's just a typical online shooter and isn't anything special. I was really disappointed to find that CoD2 wasn't as cinematic as it could have been and just felt the same throughout the whole game. Blow up this door, defend this position, destroy that mortar nest, kill this Flak 88 crew. It's the same stuff we play in every single WWII shooter and nothing ever changes. Sure it was mindless fun, but I have come to realize why I was so glad everyone moved on.
 

(Review based on PC version)

alienware


More information about Call of Duty 2
 
Call of Duty 2
fullfullfullhalfempty
Views: 1847 Review rating:

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution