More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Condemned 2: Bloodshot Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
BioLynch04
04/23/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Monolith Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Use of Drugs and Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Holy crap, this game is scary.  Hell, it gets the blood pumping before you even reach the title screen, in a fast paced, tense scene in which you learn where the game's violently cool cover comes from.  After completing Condemned: Criminal Origins, I thought I would never again find a game as frightening.  Well, I was wrong.  Condemned 2: Bloodshot is even scarier than the first game.  It makes Silent Hill look like Pony Friends for DS.

One of my complaints with the first game was that while fun, the combat system remained the same simple thing throughout the entire game.  This game adresses that problem head on.  The official GR reviewer said that he thought that the combat system was too intricate for a game of this nature, and while I could see someone thinking that, I don't.  I very much feel that this game retains the feeling of "Get this f*&#ing thing off me!"  It just requires that you do more than the simple block, smack, repeat.

Guns also play a larger role in Bloodshot than in Criminal Origins.  There are some parts of the game where you could theoretically shoot your way through an entire level if you're careful with ammo.  These parts are pretty fun, but I personally like the all melee parts better, because they are scarier.

The graphics are more than serviceable, and a notable step up from Criminal Origins, but that's to be expected as the first title was a 360 launch game.  The technical aspects of the graphics are slightly above-average for your high-buget/high profile 360 game, but the art style is just fantastic.  The locales, enemies, everything, just works so well it's amazing.

The sound is the best I have ever heard in any game ever.  Low, evil laughter, and grunts/groans, just ooze the brutal, violent atmosphere, and before long you'll be nervous to go any further.

The story and voice acting is great, although the plot falls apart slightly towards the end of the game.  I really like the early scenes, though.  In just the first scene you'll be fighting with leg braces and prosthetic limbs.

Forensic investigations return, and are refined to make for a better, more free experience.  Last time around, you weren't allowed to choose what tool you used when you used it; the game just kind of forced you through the crime-scene investigations.  Now you have to examine every aspect of the body and the environment surrounding it to come up with correct information to feed your contact at the Serial Crimes Unit.  This is so much more immersive it's almost unbelievable.

So, that about wraps it up.  I think that this is a fantastic game.  That it makes Resident Evil 4's "scary" scenes look laughable says it all.  This, in my opinion is the best survival horror game ever made.  There are a few trip-ups here and there, but no one game is entirely perfect, though fanboys will try to tell you otherwise, but for a title in this genre, Bloodshot comes pretty damn close.  Anybody who likes horror, or even thinks they can handle the frights this game throws at you shouldn't hesitate to pick this gem up.


More information about Condemned 2: Bloodshot
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 923 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution