More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Condemned: Criminal Origins Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
OKcomputer
08/09/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Monolith 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Ethan Thomas must have some terrible nightmares, because this game left me with a pissed pair of jeans. I gained five inches on my vertical just from all of the jumping I did. Scary basement-dwellers, cracked out hobos waiting around the corner, pitch-black environments. When you're playing, it's enough to make you want to scream.

The graphics are not the best that I've seen, but the sounds in that game are great. And by great I mean terrifying. Don't try to play that game in the middle of the night with some of those state-of-the-art gaming headphones. You'll start to forget that you aren't actually in the game, and every couple of seconds you'll find yourself turning around to make sure that you actually are alone. Hearing the screams of strung out madmen and the scurrying footsteps of sneaky creepsters is bad enough, but then they play that uber creepy soundtrack that they have. The audio is very well done.

The gameplay is also very good. I especially like the idea that you can use almost anything as a weapon. Paper cutters, desk drawers, and even the arms of mannequin's are in your arsenal of unlikely weapons. There is nothing like busting a meth addict in the face with a lead pipe.  While the fighting was interesting (with very persistent AI), the blocking system is not the best. For some reason, the main character can only hold a weapon in front of himself for a split-second. If you don't time a block perfectly, and I mean absolutely perfectly, you'll get hammered in the head and lose a lot of health. But whatever, first aid kits are not hard to find at all.

An area in the gameplay that could use improvement is the series of crime-solving sequences that you have to partake in. It's not so much solving though; they are not puzzling at all. All of your tools are automatically chosen for you, and you are walked through the process each time you do it. It would make it more interesting if you actually had to find evidence for yourself. That being said, the tools that you have to use are actually pretty cool, and the crime scenes are pretty messed up.

Overall, this game is pretty great. It's scary, it's fun, and yes, it may be a bit short, but the story is good, leaving you wanting a bit more. Oh, and the best factor yet, it's really cheap now! I would have bought it at sixty bucks, so it's definitely worth it.










More information about Condemned: Criminal Origins
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 754 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution