More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Dark Sector Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
04/05/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 10 
PUBLISHER D3 
DEVELOPER Digital Extremes 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Using the glaive never gets old, awesome graphics, satisfying finishers

The Bad: Spotty story, lame multiplayer, gets repetitive after awhile

I was so excited for Dark Sector after hearing about it years ago. I finally get to play it and I wonder what took so damn long.

            The story is about something along the lines of a government experiment in Russia to make money and something like that, and you're a guinea pig in the experiment...and yeah. The story is almost non existent, but who cares?! It's all about the gameplay. The graphics and audio are astounding so don't worry. The game plays, feels, and looks like a mix of Resident Evil 4 and Gears of War. You have the over-the-shoulder view point like RE4, and the hold-down-A-button-and-run-with-the-camera-up-your-ass move like in GoW.

        The game is based around the glaive that Hayden gets in the game. You can slice enemies up (which looks killer) by slicing off heads, chopping off arms and watching enemies clutch their stump and scream, slice them in half etc. The game slowly introduces things for your glaive throughout the game. You can charge your glaive with elements like electricity, ice, and fire and go figure on what those do. You can also do "Aftertouch" (was that stolen from Burnout?) which lets you control the glaive in slow motion.

        You can also shoot things, but the gunplay is kind of weak. You can upgrade your weapons adding things to them such as extra firepower, higher accuracy, and stopping power through suitcases that you pick up throughout the game. The multiplayer is really bad though. The game is always lagging and cutting out, and it's just boring. You have to types Infection and something else (yeah it's so dull I forgot what I was playing) and it's just boring. Dark Sector is an awesome rental and will fill 8-9 hours of your weekend up with gory fun.


More information about Dark Sector
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1207 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus