More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dead Or Alive 4 Member Review for the Xbox360

Tyrranis By:
Tyrranis
11/15/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Tecmo 
DEVELOPER Team Ninja 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

But, mostly dead.

Ah, the brawler. No matter who you are, where you are there's something cathartic about beating the living daylights out of another human being using nothing but your fists, a sword or perhaps even a poolcue. No matter what, fighting games will be around, be they of the brawler variety, or of the standard fighting game kind.

Dead or Alive 4 is hardly going to be confused for a brawler, but it may be confused for a good game, given the natural... assets on display.

The premise behind the game is that Helena, the opera singer from previous installments, is now the head of DOATEC, a company whom has been doing some pretty nasty things involving the ninja-runaway Kasumi's DNA. Helena organises the 4th Dead or Alive tournament for some reason, and people show up to fight.

Yeah, it's not exactly an award-winning plot.

The premise of the game is simple. You pick a fighter, the AI (or the other player) picks a fighter, you fight, and if you're fighting the AI, you lose, get more frustrated and fight again. There are several moves you can pull off, with a Practice mode included just so that you can see what they look like when the AI doesn't counter-throw them all the time, unlike in the story mode.

In Story mode, you pick a character, fight the AI, lose, restart, fight, lose, restart, etc. until you win and move onto the next enemy, lose to them, restart that fight, lose again, etc. Although for the most part the story AI isn't that challenging, I found myself repeating quite a few fights because they kept counter-throwing my blows, blocking them, or interrupting me with a throw. Especially the last enemy, called Alpha-152. Trust me, she will quickly get on your nerves, and "Game Characters I Just Want To Die Horribly" list. If she makes it into Dead or Alive 5, I will be very angry.

And if you thought Story was tough, Time Trial mode is just plain insane. It's essentially Story Mode, except you have to win in a time frame, and if you want the unlockable goodies earnt by playing it, you have to beat every opponent twice in a particular three-round match. Lose a match, and you lose any progress towards advancing to the next one. All this does is prevent one-off flukes from earning progress, which when Alpha-152 or any particularly grab-heavy character is concerned, is the only way you win at Story mode.

Not that there's much to unlock. Beating story mode with 4 particular characters unlocks others. Beating the story mode as any character unlocks a costume and their ending video. Beating Time Trial mode with any character that doesn't have a Story mode unlocks a costume. Getting all the costumes unlocks a character. That's it. Quite an aesthetic-heavy reward system.

Which is explainable when you look at the roster. Half the game is female characters, and all of them are extremely... well-endowed, if you get the point (Both of them! Ba-zing!). What's more, even if your character is wearing a very tight costume which defies their flexibility, they still 'bounce' as much as a Jell-O mould of a bouncy castle. Badoing, badoing. Yeah, they're clearly 'padding' for the male audience*. Although I am able to appreciate the effort, I just wish more attention had been spent on the AI, rather than the boingy boingy.

*Note to self: No more lame puns. Ever.

As if that wasn't bad enough, most of those unlockable costumes are there only to show off the jubblies. From catsuits to maid outfits and others inbetween, there's hardly a costume in this game not designed to get someone's 'attention'.

All in all, Dead or Alive 4 seems more like softcore porn than it does a fighting game. Even then, though, I can't recommend it to anyone, as I don't want to expose anyone else to the horrors that is Alpha-152. Die in hell, you stupid translucent bint.


More information about Dead Or Alive 4
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 1037 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution