More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dead Rising 2: Off The Record Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
ScottCBaker587
07/01/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Blue Castle Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Its Dead Rising....Off the record of course.

 

Yes it is Dead Rising 2 Off The Record, where we see the return of the original zombie killer, Frank West. He once again finds himself in the middle of another zombie outbreak in Fortune City. As you may guess he replaces the role of Chuck Greene this time but it isn’ t a direct story clone of Dead Rising 2 with Frank West in place no this game story etc has been edited to fit Franks role. However some cut scenes will remain just as identical maybe just with slightly different lines.

 

If you have played Dead Rising 2 before this one then there isn’t much to tell for this game as it is nearly identical except for a few new weapons and combinations to make. As well as Frank using some weapons differently from Chuck. Example you will notice when you use the broadsword. The story still follows similar lines to the original DR2 where you must find out who is behind the outbreak etc but on this one however near the end it starts to change drastically compared to DR2 so get ready for that. 

 

Frank returns again with his use of his expensive camera so you can once again take pictures of the shuffling zombies or capture funny odd moments during you gameplay. As well as this you may remember Zombrex? The drug Chuck had to give to his daughter? Well since we have an absence of both (Excluding Chuck as a psychopath, yes he is a bad guy. He replaces the guy bike guy in DR2) Since Frank is infected he must now find Zombrex for himself the good part of this compared to DR2 is that you don’t have to be in the safe house or anything, when the time comes simply push a button and Frank will inject himself and you are saved for another 24 hours.

 

Speaking of 24 hours. There has been a new game mode introduced to the game which I find is what we have all been waiting for in a zombie game or in Dead Rising. In this one Capcom have introduced Sandbox mode and I’m sure you know what this means, yes unlimited zombie killing action. In sandbox mode you can wonder around the whole of Fortune City doing what ever the hell you want with no missions, no time limits, no survivors and no Zombrex! Whoop! Sound heavenly, and it is. You will have your own separate leveling up from story mode. Like starting for scratch basically but since you got a lot of time on your hands it shouldn’t take to long to level up. If you do wish to level up faster in this mode there is certain Psychopaths wondering around and to stop you getting bored which should be unlikely but they are there incase.

 

Now if that doesn’t tickle your fancy, which would be shocking. Then Capcom have added a new area to Fortune City, they have added a small theme park called Uranus Zone. Yes, you read right. In this area we have new looking zombies, basically tourists and staff as well as new food, weapons and things to destroy. Example a new weapon is the Alien Probe and I don’t think I need to explain what that does. You can also use the rides as weapons, yes, all you can think is Ouch! One ride is spinning tea cups in a space theme but each cup appears to have a circular blade round it, or It at least acts like it as the speed it is going. Not all rides or attractions are used as weapons if you want you can play some of the games if you wish, such as Whack-a-mole or Moon Mole In this case or shooting range in space style obviously and combine this with sandbox mode you can have so much fun I believe.

 

Overall this is basically a type of expansion for the original DR2 except to play as Frank. The edited story is a nice touch to Frank’s side but a lot of the cutscenes haven’t changed much which will disappoint you really. The sandbox mode was a fantastic addition or indeed something that should have always been their really however the fact of sandbox mode is probably the main selling point for this game. Finally the addition of the theme park and a few new weapons etc is a nice touch as there is more possibilities for weapon combinations etc. And it is nice to see Frank back of course.

 

*Click* “Faaantastic!!


More information about Dead Rising 2: Off The Record
 
Dead Rising 2: Off The Record
fullfullfullfullfull
Views: 379 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution