More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dead Rising Member Review for the Xbox360

Lakerol By:
Lakerol
02/21/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Partial Nudity, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Genre: Action

Players: 1

Published/Developed: Capcom

ERSB: M

Reviewed By: Lakerol

 

What to say about a game thats been done so many times, that its almost sad.  Really sad. Dead Rising takes the place of Frank, one of the unlucky surviviors of humany that is trapped in a mall for 72 hours.  Frank must battle his way though hordes of the undead, all fighting to get a piece of his caucasian butt.  When I mean hordes... I'm talkin hordes of zombies, and they all can be killed.

Frank can do this many ways, with trash cans, umbrellas and real weapons... Shotguns, baseball bats and other weapons of melee. Yet, I didn' realize that zombies are so fragile.. One hit from a trash can, and its a permant dirtnap. Or maybe its the germs. Ether way, this game is easy. Really easy. Frank can run with a weapon, mow down the undead, and level up, gaining new attacks and stats. The game fights back a little with adding more undead each time Frank levels up. So, there are more undead to kill with trash cans. Fun.

What erks me about this game, is the fact that there are only 72 hours to play. After that the game ends, ether by rescue or death. Along the way, frank can help other people trapped in the mal or decide just to hide in a closet until the time is up. Its up to you, and Frank.

Basically this game is remake of Dawn of the Dead, for the Xbox.  Without the sexy stripper to shag in Mc Sporting Goods.

With limited replay value, easy gameplay and a story line thats been done before, is this game really worth all the money and hype?

Or are we all just payin for something thats been done before?

Dead Rising clearly qualifies as a rental, if not a borrowed from a friend, who was dumb enough to buy it.

 

Pros: Its LOTS of ZOMBIES!!!

Cons: Its Zombies... again

Pros: kill the zombies!!!

Cons: with a trashcan!?

Pros: Its the Xbox 360!

Cons: Dawn of the Dead DVD is 9.99. This game isn't.

 

Final Note:

Dead Rising is great for an all night horror fest. After that, its going to collect dust on your shelf. Keep this one as a rental.

 

 


More information about Dead Rising
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 939 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution