More Reviews
REVIEWS Dead Rising 3 PC Review
Hack ‘n’ slash if you want.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL FANTASY CURTAI Review
Take some of the greatest tunes Square Enix has ever produced, weave them through an interesting rhythm system with a couple famous, friendly faces, then make it portable. What could possibly go wrong?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Invisible, Inc. Preview
The makers of Don’t Starve and Mark of the Ninja head into uncharted territory (again).
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dead Rising Member Review for the Xbox360

Silios By:
Silios
09/12/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Partial Nudity, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

            When I first purchased my Xbox 360 there were only a few games I actually wanted, one of them being Dead Rising. Released on August 9, 2006 Dead Rising was one of the fasted selling exclusive titles to the 360 at the time. Dead Rising was developed by Capcom with the help of lead producer Keiji Inafune, famous for his work on the Mega Man series. Developed in the classic sand box style (an open environment for the player to roam, with little boundaries) Dead Rising gives players an almost unlimited freedom of choice.       

            Dead Rising’s story comes straight out of George A. Romero’s movie Dawn of the Dead. You play as Frank West, a photo journalist who is investigating a plague in the fictional town of Willamette, Colorado. You are dropped off at a local mall by helicopter to discover it’s been infested with zombies. You’re given a 72 hour deadline to solve what happened to the sleepy little town of Willamette before your helicopter returns. Dead Rising’s story is presented in Case Files, each case file is a short mission that furthers the progression of the story. However these case files are not required to complete, and the player could simply wonder around the mall killing the undead with toy swords he found in a Toys-R-Us. Dead Rising's story is far from polemic or deep, but it makes up for this in its all-inclusive game play style.

This freedom of choice in game play is what draws me to Dead Rising. Unlike many of the modern games found today, Dead Rising encourages you to look at different paths to solve a problem (or to just ignore the problem all to gather.) I often found myself more interested in hording ammunition by using blunt weapons or kitchen knives, than wastefully using precious bullets. However, this play style wasn’t mandatory. Upon my second play through, I discovered I could be as wasteful as possible by changing my strategy on “zombie killing”.

The only aspect that I found annoying about Dead Rising, was Capcom’s choice on how the player would save his game. To save your game, the player must find the nearest restroom, and then “answer the call of nature.” Call it creative choice; this is just aggravating when you’re in the middle of play. We’ve all had those moments where you’re in the middle of a game and your boss, mom, or girlfriend called you away. It’s not always practical to leave the console on until you get back. So you panic and rush to find the nearest checkpoint, only to be killed by your careless dash to the next save point “or in this case bathroom.” Capcom could have easily fixed this, with the addition of a quick save function (the ability to save your game at any time.) I’ve heard the counter to this argument was that it increases the overall intensity and drama of the game, but I just found it tedious and silly.

 Despite all of its flaws, Dead Rising is a really great game. It manages to do something that not many games have done in awhile, be genially fun. Dead Rising is one game that will be remembered for its fun - sometimes wacky - parody style of game play. I give Dead Rising an A for being one of the few games that made me smile all the way to the end.


More information about Dead Rising
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 982 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution