More Reviews
REVIEWS LEGO Batman 3: Beyond Gotham Review
Batman and friends team up for another Lego adventure.

This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: Out Now

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Dead Rising Member Review for the Xbox360

Silios By:
Silios
09/12/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Partial Nudity, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

            When I first purchased my Xbox 360 there were only a few games I actually wanted, one of them being Dead Rising. Released on August 9, 2006 Dead Rising was one of the fasted selling exclusive titles to the 360 at the time. Dead Rising was developed by Capcom with the help of lead producer Keiji Inafune, famous for his work on the Mega Man series. Developed in the classic sand box style (an open environment for the player to roam, with little boundaries) Dead Rising gives players an almost unlimited freedom of choice.       

            Dead Rising’s story comes straight out of George A. Romero’s movie Dawn of the Dead. You play as Frank West, a photo journalist who is investigating a plague in the fictional town of Willamette, Colorado. You are dropped off at a local mall by helicopter to discover it’s been infested with zombies. You’re given a 72 hour deadline to solve what happened to the sleepy little town of Willamette before your helicopter returns. Dead Rising’s story is presented in Case Files, each case file is a short mission that furthers the progression of the story. However these case files are not required to complete, and the player could simply wonder around the mall killing the undead with toy swords he found in a Toys-R-Us. Dead Rising's story is far from polemic or deep, but it makes up for this in its all-inclusive game play style.

This freedom of choice in game play is what draws me to Dead Rising. Unlike many of the modern games found today, Dead Rising encourages you to look at different paths to solve a problem (or to just ignore the problem all to gather.) I often found myself more interested in hording ammunition by using blunt weapons or kitchen knives, than wastefully using precious bullets. However, this play style wasn’t mandatory. Upon my second play through, I discovered I could be as wasteful as possible by changing my strategy on “zombie killing”.

The only aspect that I found annoying about Dead Rising, was Capcom’s choice on how the player would save his game. To save your game, the player must find the nearest restroom, and then “answer the call of nature.” Call it creative choice; this is just aggravating when you’re in the middle of play. We’ve all had those moments where you’re in the middle of a game and your boss, mom, or girlfriend called you away. It’s not always practical to leave the console on until you get back. So you panic and rush to find the nearest checkpoint, only to be killed by your careless dash to the next save point “or in this case bathroom.” Capcom could have easily fixed this, with the addition of a quick save function (the ability to save your game at any time.) I’ve heard the counter to this argument was that it increases the overall intensity and drama of the game, but I just found it tedious and silly.

 Despite all of its flaws, Dead Rising is a really great game. It manages to do something that not many games have done in awhile, be genially fun. Dead Rising is one game that will be remembered for its fun - sometimes wacky - parody style of game play. I give Dead Rising an A for being one of the few games that made me smile all the way to the end.


More information about Dead Rising
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 1008 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus