More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Dead Rising Member Review for the Xbox360

jayers By:
jayers
08/12/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Partial Nudity, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Zombie Lovers Welcome To Heaven

I put this game on reserve in May and i was just counting the days away till Capcom released their undead nightmare that is DEAD RISING....and i have to say I am not disapointed.

DEAD RISING is a great game that i have to say is probably the more unique title on the 360. With its non-linear way of making you play though the game, i mean u can take so many different routes on how to play it. The story itself which is put into time sensitive "case files", is a pretty basic science gone wrong now we have zombies story, but it still gets you into the game. A couple plot twists are abound as you try to finish all these case-files and figure how the hell all these zombies are here.

Any zombie lover is going to be on this game like a fat kid on cake, as there are almost endless ways to defeat you flesh eating ghouls, i mean go to a sandwitch shop and get some cooking oil throw it on the ground then take a severed hand and throw it on the oil then just sit and watch as a zombie slips and slides everywhere trying to get a meal, maybe you want to get a bear mask and stick it on a zombie's head and as it wandering blindly into wall slice it in two with a katana, or maybe you just want to be simple and stick your hand in a zombies guts and disembowel it.

The positives of this game are the fact that there just are endless numbers of zombies to kill (so far ive gotten to 13,565 kills). There can be hundreds of zombies on screen at once. Endless numbers of weapons (cars, water guns, katanas, shotguns, SMGs, battle axe, pipes, benches, nailguns, pies, mailboxes, hedgetrimmers, CD's, well you get the picture). Plenty of of NPC's to rescue, each unique in their own way. Plenty of boss battles including a family of snipers, dual chainsaw wielding clown, jeep full of convicts, cult leader ect:.

The sound in DEAD RISING is great the sound effects guy should get a raise, because when you cut a zombie in half and hear its guts splatter all over the floor you know you have good sound effects. Voice acting is decent some voices good others bad and i mean BAD!

People always complain about the save system but i think it is just mis-understood. Yes you only get one save and yes the save points are spread far apart but i think it just makes you want to stay alive more and gives it a well i  got one chance kinda feel.

The NPC escort missions are a pain in the ass though as most of the people you escort are as stupid as the zombies and will not listen to some of your orders. A survivor im trying to rescue from zombies is stupid enough to not listen to my "follow me" orders an run of into a horde of zombies to try and fight them off but instead gets eaten in about 4 secs just seems alil bad to me. Plus the constant ringing of the walkie talky made me want to put the game on mute as you cannot attack or even jump while talking on it, making you a sittin duck.

Overall this game stands out. Well worth the price of 60 bucks. Might not be game of the year but one hell of a fun game to play. It has sum issues but nothing to ruin the over all gameplay. And you know there is going to be a sequel since we are talking bout CAPCOM.

P.S- Resident Evil is dead CAPCOM just stick wit pumping out more games of dead rising till you dry that game up too.


More information about Dead Rising
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 9800 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus