More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dead Space Member Review for the Xbox360

Lentium By:
Lentium
11/08/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts 
DEVELOPER Electronic Arts 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Dead Space - Not too long ago, in a galaxy not too far away.

You play as Isaac Clarke, an engineer aboard the Kellion, a space-craft sent to repair another ship known as the USG Ishimura. The Ishimura is a "planet cracker"; a ship that destroys planets and harvests it's resources. It also happens to be the ship where someone special to Isaac is stationed. The Ishimura has lost contact with the outside, and you will soon discover why.

The game is presented with no HUD, your health and energy are shown as lights built into Isaac's suit; ammo is clearly displayed when you ready your weapon. Navigating menus and getting orders from your crew are done in real-time as holograms projecting out of your suit. Other developers should take note of this, it really draws you in.

DS is broken up into 12 levels. Each level tells more and more about whats happening, it reveals itself at a decent pace with the occasional twist with buckets of blood. Every now and then there are zero-g segments in which you can walk on the walls and fight floating aliens while solving puzzles. I would have like more; but, I can't complain too much.

The enemies in DS are an alien force known as "necromorphs". They are highly reminiscent of John Carpenter's The Thing. They infect dead corpses and re-animate them into horrifying monstrosities. The necros come in many forms; from the skittering baby looking lurkers to the gorilla-like brute. Just wait till you fight the giant anus. They are tough in that you can't just shoot them in the head, you need to sever their limbs in order to kill them.

Thankfully there are plenty of upgradeable weapons to help you acomplish this. There is your standard plasma-cutter which cuts virtical and horizontal lines, the ripper, which shoots remote-controlled sawblades, & the rapid-fireing pulse rifle are just 3 of them. You can carry 4 on you at a time. They all have alternate fireing modes and can be upgraded to increse clip-size, damage, & speed.

You can also upgrade your suit to increase your health & O2. Your suit also has the power to slow time, and pick-up heavy objects, They are mostly used to solve puzzles, I found myself hardly ever using them against the necros.

There are stores in the game where you can buy ammo, upgrade nodes, and weapons(assuming you've found the blue-prints). I personally do not like this, I prefer to find all my ammo.

The graphics are something else, the textures are sharp and the lighting casts a spook-house vibe. There is this one area where you can see asteroids streaming above you casting shadows on the blood-stained floor. The game is beautiful, in a strange, malevolent way.

The sound is great, even better if you have surround sound. Whispers and growling comming from all around really set a mood. I really liked the muted space-walk segments, there is no sound in the vacume of space; but, to hear the humm of nothingness and to suddenly have a necromorph attacking you from behind.... awesome.

All is not well, however. DS really just boils down to 12 levels of "go from A to B, then back to A". Kinda repetitive; but, each level has it's share of spine-tingles.

My biggest complaint is that the game is easy, really easy; I suggest you start out on hard mode if you know your survival games. Every enemy you kill drops an item of some kind and you can buy infinite amounts of ammo from the in-game store.
Once you beat the game you can start over again with your gear you had before; but, it's on the same difficulty; what a buzz-kill. It's easy enough the first time but the second time with your powered-up gear makes it even more of a cake-walk. After your first play-through an extreme difficulty mode opens up, I haven't played it but, I can see it warranting a look.

DS Has chills, spills & kills. A welcomed addition to any survival horror fan's library.


More information about Dead Space
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1066 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution