More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Def Jam: Icon Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
BioLynch04
01/12/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER EA 
DEVELOPER EA Chicago 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Strong Lyrics, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

You may enjoy Def Jam Icon at first.  But trust me, it's an illusion.  When I first started it up, I had good feelings about the game: the menus were stylishly simplistic, the create-a-character system was incredibly deep, and the story was good enough.

Actually playing the game at first wasn't bad, simply because it was so easy you didn't actually need to know what you were doing.  You can just mash on buttons.  And that's fine, until when the game actually gets difficult.  I don't take issue with needing a lot of time to get used to controls, but this game doesn't do a thing to teach you the mechanics, nor is the booklet any help.  This wouldn't be a problem if this was a pick-up-and-play game, but it most certainly isn't.  The controls have complex analog patterns that unleash certain moves, and once the difficulty ramps up, this game is nigh impossible.  Now, despite my hatred for it, I pushed through to the end, and the story is one of two reasons I'm giving this game a D+.

The story is good, if a little cheesy at times, but for a fighter, it's perfectly acceptable and quite compelling.  One thing that helps drive the interesting story along is the graphics.  The graphics are possibly the best I have ever seen on a fighting game.  Unfortunately, graphics don't drive an entire game, and that's why I'm so disappointed.  This studio made Fight Night Round 3.  They definitely know how to make a fighting game.  So why is this such a disaster?  The music is popular and licensed, the graphics and story are great--why does this game suck so hard?

The answer is, of course, it's no fun to play.  The controls are such a chore when the difficulty ramps up, you'll want to throw your controller.  This is just unacceptable from a studio of this calibur.

If you are in desperate need of a fighter with a good story, then you could go with this--if you don't mind that everything else about it sucks.


More information about Def Jam: Icon
 
D+ Revolution report card
Views: 874 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution