More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Devil May Cry 4 Member Review for the Xbox360

Tyrranis By:
Tyrranis
02/01/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Language, Sexual Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Devil Probably Will Cry

Before I begin, I'd like to openly state that I am a fan of the series. Heck, I even believe that DMC2 was an OK game, it just didn't have the flair that the first one started, with Dante taking everything just too seriously.

Now, it seems as if its happened again. Except this time, it's not Dante, it's series newcomer, Nero.

The story goes that Nero and his girl, Kyrie, are members of a religious sect known as The Order, who worship Dante's father, Sparda (a demon). Everything's all OK and such, until Dante bursts through the ceiling during a sermon and shoots the head honcho in his head.

Cue tutorial where Nero conveniently gets his combat abilities one at a time. First is his gun, Blue Rose, then his sword (which he can rev like a motorcycle with the Left Trigger to power it up)

Then he unleashes Devil Bringer.

Now, Devil Bringer is the main difference between Nero and Dante (whom you control later in the game). It is Nero's arm, and it is awesome. Not only can Nero use it to grab enemies, but it later gains the ability to pull enemies to you, or fling you to them. This makes fighting oh-so-much more fun. Plus, the fact that what happens after an enemy gets grabbed is dependant on what that enemy is, is cool. Scarecrows you slam, knights you impale with their own lances and insects you just tear apart. Wicked.

The new system of purchasing skills and items works well, too. Items are still bought with Red Orbs, which are everywhere in the game world, but skills are bought with Proud Souls, which you earn via. your Stylish antics in each level. Score high, you get a lot of Proud Souls, meaning you get more skills, making it easier to score high, making it... well, you get the idea. However, the order in which you buy skills seems to matter, too. For, everytime you buy a skill, all the other skills increase in price. Strategy when it comes to buying skills is vital in order to not get ripped off, it seems.

But I don't mind. There's an option to refund ALL skills right there at the main menu anyway. You can try out different purchasing orders to see which fits best, which is wicked cool. I don't use it much, but it's still wicked cool.

Before you know it, you'll be halfway through the game when the attention shifts from Nero to Dante. Now, Dante's a little different than Nero, but the basic principle's the same. However, the Left Trigger now toggles guns, the right one toggles his meleé weapons. Plus, the D-pad allows you to switch styles on the fly, which is something that allows for some awesome maneuvers. One moment, you could be evading moves with a Trickster combo, the next you're carving it up with the Sword Master. Royal Guard I didn't use much, but it's still there too.

However, even as a series fan, I cannot excuse the fact that the last half of the game is pretty much the first half in reverse order. This just sucks. I've enjoyed the varied settings of the series for a while now, and while it was cool to see them repeated sometimes in the first and third games, having the entire game repeated is just plain lazy.

Not to mention the bosses are also repeated. I can only think of one that is fought only once. All others are fought at least twice. Heck, most are fought 3 times, perhaps even more! I've started playing the first unlocked difficulty setting, I'm not even halfway and I've already fought the frog-thing twice.

I should also mention the fact that Nero's a whiny little runt, but to be honest, I've phased that out. I just don't care about that anymore.

Still, this is a fine Devil May Cry title for the current generation of consoles. Still, if it hadn't repeated the second half...


More information about Devil May Cry 4
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 971 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus