More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

DIRT: Colin McRae Off-Road Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
BioLynch04
01/12/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Codemasters 
DEVELOPER Codemasters 
RELEASE DATE  

This game does have the correct name.  Because, boy, will the cars you drive get dirty.  As you drive your perfectly designed car along, dirt will slowly collect on the back and sides of your car, and by the end of the race, there will be a fine shade of brown (differing depending on what kind of surface you're on) layered onto the back of your vehicle.  And it looks realistic to the point while, in driver's seat camera, you actually feel like you're there.

Now, I like this game for the most part, but I have some nits to pick.  While the car controls work, they aren't perfect.  The vehicles seem to be turning on a central axis, when it should feel like all four wheels are connected to the ground.  Now this would be a problem, but my favorite camera angle (driver's seat) isn't connected to this issue.

Another problem: The tracks aren't very creative outside of the point to points.  Most of the tracks that aren't rally tracks are simple, short circle tracks that aren't a damn bit of fun to drive on.  However, most tracks are fun to drive on, so anyone playing Dirt should be able to handle this.  This, I think, is a bigger issue simply because the rally courses are so good.

The career structure is tier based, and while not very creative, it works fine.  I don't really mind it, though it has been complained about.

The loading of the game isn't ideal, as it takes a very long time to get into the race.  The game keeps you occupied during the wait with your driving statistics though, some of which are entertaining to see.

I guess my review probably seems more negative than I intend it to, but this game is actually damn fun once you get over the little things.  I think some of the problems with this game are just amplified because of the perfection surrounding the rest of the package.  Don't hesitate to pick up this racing gem.  It's a great re-start for the Colin McRae series, and while not flawless, it certainly is entertaining.  Plus, it makes you want to see how Codemasters is going to improve on their more accessible formula with Dirt 2.


More information about DIRT: Colin McRae Off-Road
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 797 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution