More Reviews
REVIEWS Life Is Strange: Episode 1 - Chy Review
Oh no, it's a sensitive adventure game featuring a teenage female protagonist. Will everyone freak out?!

Grim Fandango Remastered Review
This little light of mine. I'm gonna let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!
More Previews
PREVIEWS The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Ma Preview
I wish I could claim some mastery over this topsy-turvy classic starring elf boy who saves princess. Predictable, right?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES RUGBY 15
Release date: 02/01/15

DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round
Release date: 02/17/15

Dragon Ball XENOVERSE
Release date: 02/24/15


LATEST FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

Nintendo Downloads January & February 2015 - After Burner, LEGO, Indie Games
Every week, Nintendo updates the eShop on both Wii U consoles and 3DS handheld devices. We'll bring you the list here.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES PlayStation Downloads January & February 2015 - Monopoly, January's Free PS+ Games
Have you been playing online with your PlayStation devices? Make sure to get these free games for the month of January in our weekly update feature.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Finally Broke My Crowdfunding Rule
By oblivion437
Posted on 01/12/15
I've had a long-standing rule to avoid getting involved in any sort of crowdfunded activities.  I didn't donate to Shadowrun or Wasteland, but I did buy and enjoy both of them (I'm plugging both of those games right now, just so you know they're good).  I haven't...

DIRT: Colin McRae Off-Road Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
BioLynch04
01/12/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Codemasters 
DEVELOPER Codemasters 
RELEASE DATE  

This game does have the correct name.  Because, boy, will the cars you drive get dirty.  As you drive your perfectly designed car along, dirt will slowly collect on the back and sides of your car, and by the end of the race, there will be a fine shade of brown (differing depending on what kind of surface you're on) layered onto the back of your vehicle.  And it looks realistic to the point while, in driver's seat camera, you actually feel like you're there.

Now, I like this game for the most part, but I have some nits to pick.  While the car controls work, they aren't perfect.  The vehicles seem to be turning on a central axis, when it should feel like all four wheels are connected to the ground.  Now this would be a problem, but my favorite camera angle (driver's seat) isn't connected to this issue.

Another problem: The tracks aren't very creative outside of the point to points.  Most of the tracks that aren't rally tracks are simple, short circle tracks that aren't a damn bit of fun to drive on.  However, most tracks are fun to drive on, so anyone playing Dirt should be able to handle this.  This, I think, is a bigger issue simply because the rally courses are so good.

The career structure is tier based, and while not very creative, it works fine.  I don't really mind it, though it has been complained about.

The loading of the game isn't ideal, as it takes a very long time to get into the race.  The game keeps you occupied during the wait with your driving statistics though, some of which are entertaining to see.

I guess my review probably seems more negative than I intend it to, but this game is actually damn fun once you get over the little things.  I think some of the problems with this game are just amplified because of the perfection surrounding the rest of the package.  Don't hesitate to pick up this racing gem.  It's a great re-start for the Colin McRae series, and while not flawless, it certainly is entertaining.  Plus, it makes you want to see how Codemasters is going to improve on their more accessible formula with Dirt 2.


More information about DIRT: Colin McRae Off-Road
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 891 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus