More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

DIRT: Colin McRae Off-Road Member Review for the Xbox360

EnderSR388 By:
EnderSR388
05/22/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Codemasters 
DEVELOPER Codemasters 
RELEASE DATE  

Let me say that I've been a long time fan of the Colin McRae Rally series from the PS1 days. So when you read my review remember that I am biased towards this series greatly. I don't agree with Codemasters dropping the CMR name just to broaden the scope of the game for mass market consumption, but I do understand that the CMR series has never really achieved critical success, despite it's many high scores. I also understand that Codemasters didn't make this game just for me. So on that note here's my review:

GRAPHICS: This is probably the best looking racing game I have ever played. Everything from the HDR lighting, to the particle effects, down to the normal mapping on the tires. This game screams polished and every minute detail has been included. There's only one thing that really let me down and that's the dust cloud that follows the car. It doesn't stay in the air long enough and also doesn't trail the car too far. This is a very, very minor detail in the grand scope of the graphical prowess, but I wish it would have been addressed. The front end menu system for this game is pure genius! Menus are buttery smooth to navigate with very little confusion. Every game should have a menu system this good, but then it wouldn't be special. Also the in car view is an absolutely stunning sight to behold! Think PGR3 cranked to 11. It's that good. Also, I have experienced none of the slowdown mentioned in various reviews, which makes me question the reviews all together. Even with multiple cars on the track I had no slowdown.

SOUND: The sound sampling is very well done. From the idle hum to the roar of a floored engine, to tires slipping on pavement, to tires throwing dirt, each sound has been captured perfectly. No sound seems out of place. The music, while unlicensed, still fits the mood and never becomes annoying (which is an Achilles heel in most racing games IMO). You almost don't notice it's there. Crash sounds are likewise very brutal sounding, which they should be, and never sound fake. You feel the impact audibly when you screw up.

CONTROL: Superb handling has always been the hallmark of the CMR series and while toned down a bit to cater to non-hardcore gamers tastes, never feels watered down. The physics at times do feel a little "floaty", but never enough to where you feel out of control. Cutting corners at 60 mph is still thrilling as ever!

VALUE: This is a game that I will be playing for a long time to come. It's also a game that you can throw in and show others the graphical might of your XBOX360!


More information about DIRT: Colin McRae Off-Road
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 751 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus