More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Doom 3 BFG Edition Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
12/01/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Bethesda 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Every Doom game under the sun, the original Dooms are classic fast paced fun, Doom 3 is in 3D

The Bad: But who cares?, absolutely no changes to any game, no extras at all

Doom may be the father of first person shooters, but like most old man, you can't teach it new tricks (or was that old dogs?) I was really excited about this compilation because I expect a nice HD upgrade to Doom 3 and a lot of cool extras, but nothing like that exists. Instead we get all three Dooms just thrown together with 3D capabilities for Doom 3. What a waste of money and time. This is pretty much for people who have never touched Doom before, but if you have played them all just skip this. I will talk about each Doom game separately so here we go!

Doom 3

I didn't have a high-end PC when this was released so I got stuck with the Xbox version. It wasn't all that great then and still isn't. The game is very straight forward, linear, and lacks the fast pace of older Dooms. There's barely a story holding all this together and one of the biggest issues with the last two games plagues this one: Confusing levels. I can't tell you how many times I got lost in this game because every hallway looks the same. The guns are boring to shoot, the graphics (today) look terrible with really low resolution textures, bad lighting effects, and cheap scares. The game doesn't even capture the sick and twisted satanic cult stuff from previous games. There's a lot of keycard finding and door opening like the last games, so is it even worth playing? Sure, the first time through is a bit fun, but if you played this once don't bother again. BFG includes the Resurrection of Evil expansion which is just more of the same, but at least the environments are a bit different. There's also no one playing online so you can pretty much forget that feature.

Doom

I had more fun with the older Dooms than I did with 3 mainly because I never played them before. The pace is really fast and it just looks more interesting and is more fun to play. New gamers may be put off by the 2D graphics or the fact that you don't aim up and down, just point at the character and shoot. The biggest issue with this series is the stupid keycard finding and switch finding. The levels are laid out so poorly where you always get lost for longer than you should. The best levels were the few that didn't have switches or keycards. There is also a very small enemy variety which makes shooting boring after a while, and Doom has 3 expansions to play through. Each expansion looks different, but is utterly the same with nothing new added. This is a classic game though and should be played by every FPS fan out there.

Doom II

Not much changed from the original except a couple new enemies and different levels. Doom II was shorter lived than the first game with only one expansion, but contained 21 levels. Doom II is still worth a play through because it is mindless shooting that is fast paced and just entertaining. These games are meant to be played in short bursts and not hours at a time or  you will get bored.

As it stands, BFG Edition is really disappointing with no upgrades or extras. I at least expected Doom 3 to be upgraded in HD with a cleanup job, but none of that exists. Why id was so lazy with this is beyond me, but they have been pretty lazy lately (the terrible Quake 4 and Rage are examples) I do not recommend buying this if you have played any Doom before. This is for people who have never touched a Doom game and are interested. For the low price point it is a good bargain, but fans will be sorely disappointed.
 

(Based on PC version)


More information about Doom 3 BFG Edition
 
Doom 3 BFG Edition
fullfullhalfemptyempty
Views: 1248 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus