More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Fallout 3 Member Review for the Xbox360

AMANIAC By:
AMANIAC
11/20/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Bethesda Softworks, ZeniMax 
DEVELOPER Bethesda Game Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Well, i've completed Fallout 3 and am playing it through again as an evil bastard, so i've decided to write up what i think of it:
First things first, VATS; how awesome is it to see your guy just blast a Ghoul into meaty chunks of, er, meat? It's easy to use (mostly; i did have some trouble targeting the bit i wanted) and is incredibly rewarding, but what about when you're out of action points? Or out of range? Well, then you have to rely on the not-so-rewarding real time shooting part of combat, and it's just not fun; it feels clunky and out-dated and it feels like the developers sort of forgot about it (they were too busy seeing how many chunks they could fit into VATS sequence).

Fallout 3 is not just about meaty chunks, though; it's the story of you, the Vault Dweller of Vault 101, who leaves their home and enters the Capital Wasteland to find their father...etc. The main story's ok (and the last mission is pretty awesome), but i prefer roaming the wastes and saving towns from annoying super heroes (you'll have to play to find out), all of the side missions are unique and interesting and you can tackle them anyway you see fit; say someone wanted you to help write a book on wasteland survival you could either agree to help or (with a high speech skill) you can convince them to give up and still get the xp points. The leveling up system up is fine, but a bit short on levels (20), this doesn't mean you can reach level 20 in a couple of missions, but as you get higher, you'll notice the ammount of xp needed to level up increase dramatically. The karma system works pretty well, though and it's great hearing the guy on the radio talking about how you tackled various missions: "Allowed the friendly ghouls into Tenpenny Tower" or "Blasted them to hell" (not the D.J's exact words, but you get what i'm saying, right?)

Graphically, Fallout 3 looks pretty good, but it does have a real problem; the third person view, now normally i don't really care much about graphics, but you just can't play the game in third person; the character animations are atrocious (they're the same as Oblivion's), it looks the worst when you're swimming (like Oblivion). But, even after the Oblivion animations, there's still no denying that Fallout 3's setting, the Capital Wasteland, is one of the most incredible looking environments ever to be wandered, in a game, Bethesda did a great job of making a post-apocalyptic, 1950's era-looking, Washington D.C based hell-hole.

Overall, i'm gonna give this game an A-, but if it was a review on the stlye of the game alone, then you can safely bet i'd be putting vertical line through the middle of that minus...


More information about Fallout 3
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 1016 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution