More Reviews
REVIEWS LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?

Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Fallout 3: Point Lookout Member Review for the Xbox360

mooseodeath By:
mooseodeath
06/28/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Bethesda 
RELEASE DATE  
M What do these ratings mean?

another trip to the wasteland

this time however i don't really feel connected to what was happening. from the get go your barely told anything about what's going on. to the point you have no real story reasoning for being in point lookout to start with. even the the guy who takes you there sounds like a corny commercial.

really does anyone sits through his speech about how great point lookout is and not start wondering " did they get an intern to write this?" 

unfortunately the story doesn't get much better, all of the quests smack of why am i doing this? the only real answer is usually because the quest marker says so.  there is what i would consider two main quests. the chinese spy and the meeting the locals quest line which is considered the real main quest. the chinese spy mission was probably better written than the main quest line. and if you don't just follow quest markers has a real sense of achievemnt for finishing it. including two puzzles you might have to use your own brain to solve. lookout telltale bethesda's moving in on your territory

the unique weapons aren't much to write home about. except i will say the rifle is better than you might think and very handily takes 10mm rounds so that enormous sackful of ammunition you ditch at every trader you find is suddenly useful.  it holds ten shots and with a full small arms skill will deal 45 damage making it more powerful than a sniper rifle with plentiful ammo.

i love fallout 3, and i;ve bought each content pack as it's released. this is probably the first one i've considered to be below par. anchorage followed it's storyline and gave legitimate reasons for it's circmstances occurung. the pitt actually explained the huge number of raiders thoughout the capital wasteland, as well as how they're making their own armour from scraps when no-one else has the tools you would need.

and broken steel lets you, ahem, finish the fight.

point lookout unfortunately has no real corelation to the story. it's pretty clear it was concieved as a cash in. and i'd wager, given the artistic departure, was made by a team of newer employees while the real fallout 3 team was moving on to the new project ..whatever that may be (here's hoping TES5)

i have to say this is a C+, it is still better than many games that come out, and it is worth noting this is a full explorable new area. making this content bigger than some released games. but it's dropping the ball on what i know these guys can do


More information about Fallout 3: Point Lookout
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 939 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus