More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Final Fantasy XIII Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
dross94
02/14/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Square Enix 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Mild Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

First off, let me explain a few things. In my opinion FFX is possibly the best video game I have ever played (I've played through it at least 8 times), second only to the Ocarina of Time. I'm a final fantasy fan though. I've also played FF 7 and FF 8.

I know this review may be dated, but I imagine it serves the purpose.

Quick note: I won't be that specific in this review because i'm doing this about 20 minutes before I go to bed.

In this review, I will cover a few different categories, including: Story, Gameplay, Battle Systems, Story, Overall Game Mechanics, Pros and Cons.

Recommendations at page bottom.

First off, story. This part of the game is lacking in a sense, because unlike previous FF games, this story gives very little information about even the smallest plot elements. Who the **** are these people? What's a pulse La'Cie? What the hell is this battle system? While the story gradually, and I mean very gradually, picks up to a reasonable pace, the lack of a background is definitely a major fault with this game design. Overall: C

Secondly comes gameplay. This game consists of basic corridors with no room for exploration. Literally every small detail is mapped out far in advance with enemies positioned at specific parts of the maps unlike the random encounters of previous games. Also, the main characters walk very loudly. When you are not walking down a linear corridor you are probably in a cut scene; which, I hate to admit, are very well designed with beautiful graphics. This game falls really flat on its face when it comes to gameplay in all honesty. Overall: C-

Next comes the battle system. This was by far the biggest disappointment for me. While the system may seem fast paced at the beginning, it later becomes nothing more than auto attacking with the same four attacks over and over again. Also, the lack of being unable to control your teammates is a flaw. You basically get your ass kicked because you can't hurt an enemy until you hit them enough for some reason, so you wait until you can and just have at them, they revive, repeat. And while some say that this system makes for a strategic game, its the complete opposite, because the characters don't take any risks and just cast weak spells or attacks the entire time. This battle system was definitely a major let down, simply because of how menial and simple it is. Overall: D-

Story: All I can say about this story is that it is in no way memorable. I played this game basically nonstop for and entire long weekend, and I haven't even thought of playing this since. The story has no suprises, sends the characters to do missions with no background of what it's for, and has no passion in anything it accomplishes.
Unlike other FF games, this story is lousy, enough said. Overall: C-

Characters: The characters are annoying. Lighting's a *****, Vanille's annoying, Snow and Hope are ****s, etc. However, they are entertaining to make fun of. Overall: B

Now with all these faults you may be asking, what's good about this game?
Well, heres a list of the major pros and cons
Pros:
Great graphics
Another Final Fantasy to play
Long
Entertaining for the most part
(Note: I know i'm not being specific, but that's basically all it is, it's entertaining while you play it)
Cons:
Ultra Linear
Characters are just plain annoying
Bad Story
Laughable battle system
No background info
You will be confused to what's going on

Overall, since nowadays the price is probably pretty low I'd suggest getting this game, but don't expect to have it be a game you replay or lose any sleep over. All ranting aside, the game isn't terrible and if you have some extra time and money you may want to look into getting it.

I've hope you all enjoyed my review. This is my first one, so let me know what you think I should improve on. Have a fantastic day :)


More information about Final Fantasy XIII
 
C- Revolution report card
Views: 825 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution