More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Gears Of War Member Review for the Xbox360

kgbninja By:
kgbninja
12/14/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Epic 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

This game is fantastic for many reasons, but not perfect. It has outstanding graphics, great sound and soundtrack (especially when there is no music, just ambient sound. Much spookier.), and a gameplay engine that makes anyone a commando. The "cover" system is so simplistic, that anyone can feel like a badass, and yet, it blows me away that no game had done it yet. The controls are easy to learn and use, which makes the game less for hardcore FPS fraggers and more for the average player who wants to rock some enemy butt. The characters are yor very basic archetypal "badass angry guys who don't take no guff," which is cool, but very typical. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy that kind of character, but I think the only person I really enjoyed was Cole (a very stereotypical character as well) because of his more playful kick-assery. The enemy A.I. is at the least, quite decent. I found that I was generally, much smarter than them, which is a shame, cause I'm also pretty bad at shooters. But the Locusts still killed me enough to make them a formidable foe. The story sucks, by the way. Sorry guys, but there is no real beginning, or end to this game. There is no developement, and it is way too short. ****SEMI-SPOILER**** The end leaves something to be desired, and I hope they follow it up with something better than a sequal infected with the Matrix: Reloaded virus, gaurunteeing it to suck after a great initial game. All in all, this game is only next-gen in graphics. Everything else could've easily been on the original Xbox. And finally, I know this review is almost all negative, but thats because everybody else ignores its flaws. I love this game and I play it a lot, I just thought somebody should play the devil's advocate on this title.


More information about Gears Of War
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 863 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution