More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter Member Review for the Xbox360

Lonewolf727 By:
Lonewolf727
09/14/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T What do these ratings mean?

            I not going to write something that appears overwhelming to read I will organize so you the gamer can just skim the highlights of this game. Ghost recon well lets me organize it in three main branches game play, visuals, and multiplayer. I wouldn’t want to put any of my readers to sleep because then what’s the point of writing a review.

 

            Game Play-When your flying solo this game has all the capabilities you would expect in a great first-person-shooter. The missions in campaign are emissive in all ways possible, but the down side to it the entire campaign mode can become long and difficult, no one wants that’s. The enemies are smart and always have a cunning maneuver to kill you, as I am sure you found out already. If you sneak up to them at close range they quickly become slow and clumsy. Having comrades (tanks or soldiers) to tell what do to be a great feature that adds realism to the game. Your little eye in the sky on the other hand came become a great pain in the neck when you are forced to use it; some any even say that despite a few missions why have them. The weapons are a whole lot of fun in solo mode. There is so much to choose from and each one has its own unique sound and capabilities.

 

            Visuals and Sounds-The graphics meet up to all next gen-standards or for that matter all standards. You really start to notice them why you progress through the game. The environment is truly a work of art, but it is soon overwhelmed with the sound of hostel gunfire. The soldiers, if that’s what you want to call them, act and look like real people which really adds to the overall beauty of the game. The sound of gun fire from every direction really make you feel like you are there holding your own against numerous enemies. I’m sure that if you played this game before that you would of realized how annoying it is to listen to your guy groan every time he is shot or killed. Isn’t there a mute button anywhere? The explosions are quite entertaining to create or watch. Vehicles make a prime source for this feature. This is a great way to clear out enemies that are all huddled beside one. The downside to these explosions is when you attempting to blow-up an armored vehicle. A rocket launcher won’t even leave a scratch on it the first shot (talk about poor realism).

 

            Multiplayer- when playing live this game is simply…well a good entertaining game. On split screen the features are scaled down. You may ask why, but I don’t know, what I do know is that it really took a lot of features out that it had in solo missions (campaign). For example the guns lose their individual noise (when fired) and is replaced by a standard gunshot. You receive no friendly bots on you side like you had in the campaign missions. The graphics themselves have been scaled down as well. Nothing-escaped the disaster of scaling down! The feature that allowed you to cover in single player as been edited. If you recall the gun that shot around corners (what’s the name?) well that gun has lost the ability to do that in multiplayer.

 

            As you can see is that this game is you standard first-person-shooter. It has its up and downs, highs and lows, but overall it’s a good game. What you couldn’t see is that I am from Minnesota where we all talk like this, “yah, yah you bet’cha yah.” So if you picked up my accent you’re pretty observant if not oh well there always next time.

 


More information about Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1533 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus