More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Grand Theft Auto IV Member Review for the Xbox360

ACDC345 By:
ACDC345
05/28/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Take 2 
DEVELOPER Rockstar 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Intense Violence, Blood, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Partial Nudity, Use of Drugs and Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

So Rockstars got GTA4 out, and let me tell you, this game is awesome, well, if you're old enough to handle it. This GTA is probably one of the most refined, and accesible of the lot. You'll notice that here and there, there have been many touches that have definitely improved the gameplay for the better. Combat, a long time sore spot with GTA has been finallly fixed. Now you've got a new cover system that works well. The weapons all vary in magazine capacity, rate of fire, and damage. The sound track is great, with many nice artists that the music lovers at Rockstar have picked out. Although, I'll say that the funniest station is Integrity 2.0, a talk show, hosted by none other than, Lazlow. The commercials are still as funny as ever. The wanted system has also been improved. In past GTA's it was either use cheats, or duck into a Pay 'N' Spray. This has all been changed int GTA4. Rather than doing one of the aforementioned ways of evading the cops, you can do, either, utilize the Pay 'N' Spray just like the others. (You can also use cheats, but, that's cheating, and nobody like's cheaters, right?) Rockstar has now created a circular area to escape. You have to get out of an area that flashes blue & red on the radar. If you get out of the area without the cops seeing you leave, it's just a matter of waiting a few seconds for your wanted level to go down. You now also get a Cell Phone, and it's what holds almost everthing together. You can call your bosses to chat up them for work, call your girlfriend or just plain old friend and ask to go and do something. Along with that you can download new ringtones and backgrounds for your phone at the TW@ internet cafe. You can search for other girlfriends, and much more. The phone is also the gateway for the multiplayer options. On top of all this, you've got one fine looking game. The graphic system (RAGE engine) along with the Euphoria physics engine ad to the game. Driving vehicles in this game is a little harder this time around, especially on motorcycles. Either way if you get to going fast enough you will eventually be thrown from the windshield. If you're on a motocycle, well, you can pretty much kiss your butt good-bye. But what I was really getting at was the graphics. Although the city isn't as big as San Andreas (I don't remember how big San Andreas is so I couldn't tell you how much it differs.) it looks better, and that within itself, is an accomplishment. The size of the city is still large, and you're getting alot of mileage.  

Now that I'm past all of that let me get on to the story. Grand Theft Auto has always had a little problem with making their protaganists lovable. (Just take Victor Vance as an example.) Unlike Victor, Niko Bellic is more human showing a vast array of emotions. Not only that but he's got a background that leaves him a little rough around the edges. Niko's not only just  tough and rough (if that's the right phrase, I'm not sure) but he's also rather funny. He and most of the other characters are all very funny. But of course without a parade of wackjobs what would a GTA be. The story holds up to high action, summer movies, and for that, it excels. If you're just here for the story, let me tell you, you're going to get about 30 hours out of just the story mode. If you're here for just freestyling it, doing the story mode, and more, then you can easily double that number. This game has almost so much to do that you can get lost in it, but the best part is that if you do grow tiresome of the story, you can just about do anything you want, as long as you don't get yourself busted. The replay value is extremely high, especially if you're one of those creative types. There's almost nothing you can't do, you have some racing games later on, a bowling alley to go to. You can go and get drunk, but this makes it REALLY hard to drive. There's darts that you can play with your cousin, Roman, play pool, and well, there's too much to go over. All I can say is that when GTA5 comes out, Rockstars going to have to think hard on how to make it better than this one, and they're going to have a hard time.


More information about Grand Theft Auto IV
 
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution