More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Guitar Hero: Metallica Member Review for the Xbox360

TheDiesel By:
TheDiesel
08/24/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Neversoft 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Lyrics, Mild Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Guitar Hero: Metallica Review
TheDiesel

Guitar Hero is arguably one of the biggest franchises of this decade, with a slew of games making its
way towards consoles alike, it's bound to be a driving force for years to come.  And while Guitar Hero ships out its normal lineup of games, having specific games for prolific bands come by ever so often.  With Guitar Hero's second installment of the Band tribute; Guitar Hero welcomes Metallica: one of the most influential bands of our time.  But do they have the snuff to be a well-themed GH game or just another flop and do-over?

Before I get into this review, remind yourself that this is same old formula for Guitar Hero, if you don't like
how it plays, then don't bother getting it.  Now, for most GH fans, this is the one band that most people have been wanting: fast sessions, insane solos, and relentless drumming: GH:M is definitely the hardest Guitar Hero game to date.  I play Expert on a regular basis and the drums had me bumping back down to Hard, this'll definitely be a challenging title for the average player and even the ones with experience.

But GH:M is ripe with some fresh new changes to the Guitar Hero franchise.  While the game runs on
the World Tour engine, it has been upgraded with fresher graphics, better lip-syncing, and an overall better look and feel to the game.  Metallica put a lot of time into making each song feel like a concert of theirs: with them shouting out what song they're about to play, and reacting to certain parts of the song; it doesn't feel as robotic as most of the Guitar Hero background has felt over the past couple years.  The addition of Rock Band's Star Progression scale is now on the bottom right of the screen, so you don't have to guess where you're at during a song.

Guitar Hero: Metallica's setlist is a very well put-together one with some very influential songs of
Metallica, dating back to their early 80's.  The added songs by other artists are pretty hit-and-miss, though having Mastodon is always nice.  The career mode has also taken a page from World Tour where you can pick and choose which songs you would like to play, giving a more lenient approach to Career Mode.  The only problem with this is that it almost rushes you to the end, out of the 250 stars you can get [5 stars per song], you only need 75 to reach the final song.  It would've been smarter to maybe make it to where you need 125 so people can explore the setlist more, since I just played through songs I knew and before I was done with my favorites, I was able to beat Career Mode.  It felt unachieving to complete it that quickly since you really have no incentive to continue playing on Career mode at that point, and it feels like a wasted part of the game.

Though if you're playing Drums, you have an new option in the difficulty scale, Expert+.  Expert+ has the
drum chart filled to the brim with drum kicks, and is a necessity to play with 2 drum pedals.  This will test you to the very limit and gives the full drumming experience, even if it's unbearably hard.  Songs like Dyer's Eve and Fight Fire With Fire are near impossible and this difficulty should not be tried by the average player, it'll make you look stupid for trying.  But no matter how many times you've played Guitar Hero in the past, GH:M is still a lot of fun to play on any instrument, especially if you're a Metallica fan, then this game is that much better.

This game is overflowing with extra content, putting Guitar Hero: Aerosmith to shame.  GH:M comprised
lyrics for every song, details of each song, and a version of the game called Metallifacts.  When a song is picked, it gets played with the in-game Metallica playing while facts of the song are told during the songs.  It feels like the good ole' Pop-Up Video from back in the day, and is fun to listen to the songs while interesting little facts pop-up.  Behind the Scene videos and the like are stuffed in as well to make sure that this game has enough bang for your buck.

Online mode is still doing well, with versions of Band vs. Band, and 2v2 Guitars, among others.  I
experienced no lag at all during my time online and the game was just as smooth even with the players being from all over the country.  Very pleased with how well Online works and how it's not a second thought for the game.

All-in-All, believe the hype, Guitar Hero: Metallica is a excellent addition to the ever-growing franchise and
is easily one of the best GH games since Guitar Hero II.  A must-buy for Metallica fans, and a definite pick-up for the casual Guitar Hero fan.

  • + Does Metallica Justice
  • + Fantastic Setlist
  • + Graphical and HUD Improvements
  • + Jam-packed with Extras
  • +/- Expert+ is Insane
  • - Lenient, yet Unachieving Career Mode


More information about Guitar Hero: Metallica
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 707 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus