More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Halo 3 Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
AINTD
03/02/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Bungie 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Story

I'm no Halo hater, nor am I a fanboy. With the first two games it always was like this for me: they began feeling somewhat alien to me (no pun intended) but half way through the game they grew on me and I ultimately enjoyed both gameplay and story and was always left wanting more. So, I wasn't worried when I kind of disliked the first level of Halo 3 ... and the second ... and the third ... The first half of the game story is so bland and forgetable that I just was blasting through the missions on auto-pilot, killing everything that moves and moving to the next room ... provided I could find it (more on that later). Sadly, mid through the game the story didn't get much better, it became somewhat more exciting but never built on that ... and it ended just like that - uninspired and uninteresting. It doesn't feel epic nor dramatic. Oh, and as always - it's short. Matrix syndrome? Then again, Halo 2 was great.

Gameplay / level design

Now, Halo 3 doesn't disappoint in this department most of the time. It's Halo 1 + Halo 2 + a few minor tweakings.

+ Auxilary pickups like a shield, invisibility, invincibility or a minu-turret add for more tactics
+ Some very nice new weapons + all old favourites
+ Good amount of driving sections + some great new vehicles
- Some lame new vehicles
- Is it me or shields take forever to recharge? Gotta replay Halo 2 to compare. Chaotic difficulty, sometimes too easy, other times you have to die many times till you get it right.
- As always, Halo has a rather narrow field of view, BUT ...
- ... now enemies have a nasty tendency of appearing from behind, this sometimes ends in frustration
- - - Biggest issue of all which wasn't present or wasn't apparent in other Halo games is that many areas are too open wide and the right direction is far from obvious. Sometimes you have to go round several times before you see the right way. Waypoints help a lot, but they for some reason appear only at certain points through the game. Some leves have a nice sense of flow and direction and that's when Halo 3 is most fun and enjoyable, other levels are like big multiplayer arenas where the purpose is to go round in circles. Leves designers get no kudos for this one - overall disappointing. If you ever thought that the Library level from Halo CE was a pain, think again ... in Halo 3 there is a similar but a much worse one towards the end: confined spaces, uneven terrain, never-ending flood waves, low ceilings, no sense of orientation, you just get lost and move along by intuition, not thanks to the game. What's even worse - you will then have to backtrack.

So, yes, I have a big issue with level design in Halo 3, if it wasn't for that, gameplay wise it would be great.

Visuals / Sound

Halo 3 is solid overall graphics wise ... if a bit TOO repetetive. There is little variety in environments and small details are non-existant, at times areas fell way too empty. Sound is Okay, but nothing especially new. Gunfire effects seemed a bit too low to me, like silenced. Halo 3 came out only a couple of months earlier than Mass Effect, but the latter outshines the former in most aspects: character animations, facial animations, level of detail on characters, etc. Bungie didn't bother to up Halo's productions values.

Closing comments

If the purpose of the game is to be player over XBox Live, then please put: "Multiplayer ONLY" on the cover box. Single player portion of Halo 3 has a few bright spots, but it looks like Bungie didn't feel inspired at all when making it. Still a good game, but far from what it should have been provided it being last chapter in trilogy, coming out on X-Box 360 and having plenty of development resources.


More information about Halo 3
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 540 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus