More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Halo 3 Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
BioLynch04
01/11/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Bungie 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Halo 3 is a great ending to a classic series.  It isn't necessarily better than either of the two previous games.  It hasn't improved at all, and it hasn't gotten any worse.  It's giving fans what they want--more of the same, with better graphics and more guns.

Now I think that because of this "more-of-the-same" mentality that it's held back a little from what it could have been.  Bungie, in the case of Halo 3, is a developer that's skeptical about taking risks because they might fail.  Well, Bungie is extremely talented, and I think that they could have broadened their horizons a little.  I'm not complaining, though, as what they have created is a masterpiece in its own right.

First off, while not have the most technically advanced graphics on the 360, they're damn impressive anyways, and it has, in my mind the best art style on the system (except for Bioshock).  In lush jungles, bright sunlight will filter  through the trees, and your eyes will catch little specks of dust floating around lazily in the sun's magnificent rays.  I swear, this game is just beatiful to look at.

I suppose I don't really need to talk about the gameplay, as pretty much 99.9% of the U.S. knows how to play Halo.  However, there are some nifty x-button gadgets that you have at your disposal, such as a bubble shield and an energy drain.  The energy drain, which is my favorite, comes in handy in massive fights.

The one problem I have with the gameplay is the teammate A.I.  It's almost entirely unhelpful.  I don't really have a problem with the teammates, as they don't really get in your way, but when they step behind the wheel of a warthog?  Oh, my god.  They act like a first grader attempting to drive a bus.  They drive around in circles, bump into walls, back into walls, and have no general sense of where they're going or what they're doing.  Are these guys really soldiers?  It's usually better to kick them out and drive yourself, even if you're not meant to.  For such a high profile game, Bungie definately should have fixed this.

I love all the new weapons and vehicles.  Elephant FTW!  Seriously though, this game has the most balanced multiplayer I've ever seen.  Everything fits perfectly.  You think you have the best weapon?  Oops, you just died.  Everything is balanced so well that Halo 3's multiplayer is my favorite multiplayer of all time.

The story is great once again, and doesn't have the annoying cliffhanger ending that Halo 2 did.  I love this game, and you will too.  Don't listen to the people giving this game F's for no reason.  The reason their reviews don't say anything is indication on how much they actually know about the game.  This game is up there with the best, and I can't wait to see Bungie's next.


More information about Halo 3
 
A- Revolution report card
Views: 689 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution