More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Halo 3 Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
CoreyJOmara
05/03/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Bungie 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Well I've just gotten Halo 3, borrowed it from a friend.

This game is a bit over rated, I'm not saying Halo as a series is bad, but this game just doesn't have the same feel it used to, and for some reason, Halo 2 seems a little better. Sure the graphics are splendid, it's Halo friggin' 3, and the multiplayer rocks. But this is not the end all of shooters, honestly, Call Of Duty 4 will outlast it.

I have to say, after playing Call Of Duty 2 for so long, I felt like an outsider playing this game. The controls are compeletly different from any shooter out there. It took me forever to tune my mind into pressing RB instead of X to reload, which usually screwed me over in the beginning. Plus, scoping, which is usually reserved for the left trigger in any other shooter, is back to the thumbstick, which really took the sniper out of me. What I do love about the controls is that you can reload your dual wielded weapons independently with the bumbers instead of at the same time. Overall though, once you get to used to the controls you will feel right at home. I was also confused for awhile because I though they had removed the flashlight function, since it's not mapped out in the instruction book, but I later found that any direction on the D-PAD toggled it.

There's a lot more added to Halo 3 this time around. The equipment mechanic feels cool at first, but after a couple of hours I thought of it more as a gimmick. However, I immediately fell in love with the new vehicles and weapons. The Forge and video editing system are pretty cool too.

In presentation, this game just blew me away. Some people say that Gears looks better, but I say that even if Gears has more sparkle, the varying color pallette and environments makes Halo 3 much better to look at. Plus, the blurring animation on most shooters for when you turn around is tuned down in Halo, so it was easier to keep track of baddies. The water and environment interaction effects were pretty nice as well. Water moves realisticly when you wade through it, and leaves and boxes move around as you blast through them. But, while the environments and everything look nice, I think that the character models, specificly your fellow marines, could use a little work.

The sound design is the real selling point. It really sets a mood. The game can also tell from how far away a sound is coming, so it is muted accordingly. Explosions, gun fire, etc, sound perfect too.

I haven't gotten to play the multiplayer yet, but you can ask anyone and they'll tell you that it rocks.

The game felt a little short, but the free form way that you can play through the nine levels adds some replay value, as well as going back to film some kickass stunts and what not.

Overall, buy this friggin' game.


More information about Halo 3
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 586 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution