More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Halo 3 Member Review for the Xbox360

Freak2345 By:
Freak2345
12/09/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Bungie 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Halo 3. Weve came so far havent we? I remember first playing Halo on my xbox and I was completly blown away. The Halo 2 came I was still as amazed as the first time. And now finally it has all came down to the end of a legendary trilogy. And let me tell you this final installment does not let you down.

 

Campaign/Story

4 out of 5

You find yourself in the same position as you left off in Halo 2. The Covenant has lost the Elites and The Brutes have taken over being led by the Prophet of Truth. All the Elites(including The Arbiter) have joined with the Humans to take down Truth. Of course, The Covenant now declares all elites as "heritics". You might remember this term from Halo 2(they were actually right all along). Now together, The Master Chief, The Arbiter and all the rest of the crew attempt to stop The Covenant in activacting all the Halo's which will kill the Flood and all of humanity. This story has caught the attention of everyone and it is great. The acting in the game and the script is very well put together and is very dramatic. This is a great plus to have on any game.

Audio

5 out of 5

The sound of the weapons are amazing. Every gun from the needler to the new hammer have their own distinct sound and you will know which is which after awhile. The sound of explosions and ambience is very well put together and does its job to bring you into the experience. The voice acting is well done. They still have the same voices through out the trilogy and they still deliver a great performance in Halo 3. The vehicules have gone through a dramatic change. There are new vehicules to choose from and they all sound great. The engines sound realistic and the firepower they have sounds just as good.

Graphics

4.5 out of 5

By far this is the best looking out of the three games. The detail put into the Master Chief's and Arbiters armour look fantastic. The marines have also switched up their style and look better than ever. But the biggest change has to go to the Brutes. Now, they have their own unique armour style according to their ranks within the Covenant. The new(and old) vehiclues look just as good as before. The map enviroments for both single player and online look amazing. You really get a sense of being there by just looking around. Its allmost a shame to get blood all over the nice looking trees. The only real negative with the graphics is there is some cliping in levels and it kind of ruins the whole experience by seeing that. But overall the graphics are definetly a strong plus side.

Gameplay

4 out of 5

Gameplay in Halo 3 remains relativley the same as before without to many drastic changes to ruin your experience. Now though, you can get some items such as the bubble shield or regeneration so it adds some more gameplay elements. Of course, like Halo 2 you can still dual wield certain weapons to bring you enemies to their knees faster and more sufficently. You will find yourself mixing and matching different weapons to see what goes together and what doesnt. Like in the original Halo, the assault rifle makes its return in staying the same way as before. The only thing is I liked the pistol more than the assault rifle so I was kind of hoping for it to makes its return. Overall gameplay is solid and fans of the game will not be disappointed.

Online Play

5 out 5

The Halo seires has always been dominant for online and Halo 3 does not make an exception. Sticking to its original, you get the classic Slayer, CTF and Assault which are all very fun online. A great new addition to online is the ability to customize your Spartan/Elite with different armour according to your campagin/online stats. This is a great addition and also a great way to tell the veterans from the noobs. Speaking of veterans, you should be able to become good after a few matches of online. You might suck at the beginning but after awhile you will be able to be that 30+ kill tank you allways wanted to be. Online deffinetly makes Halo what it is and you should have hours of fun playing onlien with friends.

Overall

B+. This game is a great way to finish off the Halo triology. Allthough the game does have its bugs and glitches it still remains a solid game and I highly reccomend it to any 360 owners. Halo has allways been the workhorse for Microsoft and it does not disappoint. Pick this game up, you will not regret it.

Freak 2345


More information about Halo 3
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 673 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution