More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Half-Life 2: The Orange Box Member Review for the Xbox360

sparky87 By:
sparky87
10/23/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Electonic Arts 
DEVELOPER EA UK / Valve 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M What do these ratings mean?

HL2: The Orange Box

    Well look it's Half Life 2 again, didn't you come out on the Halo machine I mean X-Box a couple years ago? Oh and look Team Fortress 2!? You were still being developed? I can't belive this value I'm getting. Wait there's more here! Portal and HL2: Episode 1&2, you put it all in one box when you could've had me download it on X-Box Live! for 2,000 points a piece, wow i love you.

    Seriously though this is one of the best games and value you can get for the 360 right now. It is a solid FPS experience and a wonderful online experience that rivals that of Halo. As this being a 5 game set i will review each separately.

Half Life 2 &
episode 1&2

    What can I say that hasn't already been said before, well nothing but I will anyways. HL2 is an excellent game a what it tries to do, and succeds in it very well. While being horribly linear and somewhat slow moving I still find myself playing it for hours wanting to know what's going to happen. While the gameplay is awesome the grapics are ok, I feel they kinda skimped out on them, they say the Source engine is easily adaptable to the hardware and easily upgradeable why didn't they do it? Sure there are some good moments but still it could have been better. So for HL2 the series it give it a B+ for

+Being Half Life on my 360
-Being the same Half Life that came out for PC a couple years ago
+Adding the Episodes
- Being Linear

Team Fortress 2

    When I first saw this game I wasn't impressed at all, I thought that it was going to get tabled again and probably never come out. Well i was wrong once again and I am impressed, this is one of the funnest online games I've played for along time. The character classed are balanced perfect and the maps are modeled great and the modes are fun, all 2 of them. Now I know that these two modes are the bread and butter of most games but seriously this game has been in development for how long? It should include more modes and maps, of course those will come in micro-management form soon enough. I hate that you spent 60 bucks on a game, then you have to spend more for content that should have been there to begin with, oh well. I hereby announce this game a A- for

+Finally coming out
+Wonderful art style and gameplay
-Hardly any content
+Best character balancing I've ever seen

Portal

    You may be harmed mentally by this review but don't worry, at the end there will be cake. Portal puts you in the shoes of a human lab rat with a portal gun trying to escape the many puzzles and turrets any way you can. I love the originality of this game, you can turn it on do a puzzle or two, or just mess with the portal gun. The story is somewhat shallow and the turrets can get annoying because when they see you they don't stop shooting untill they lose sight of you, and when your behind the bullet proof glass to see what you have to do it hinders the thought process a little. The controls are tight and the grapics are good, the only thing I dont like is that your person moves way to slow, there should be a run button. All in all I liked this game but it could never be a stand alone game, its too short. I give it a B- for

+Originality
+Portals
-Slow moving person
-Annoying turrets

    So if you like Half Life buy this game. And for the sake of posting this I have to grade it in this little box. So I give the Orange Box a


More information about Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
 
comments powered by Disqus