More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Major League Baseball 2K6 Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
monkeycub
06/25/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER 2K Sports 
DEVELOPER Visual Concepts 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

This is my first year playing this game, but from what I have read about the past games they were just okay. This game takes a huge leap in hitting styles because timing is crucial and controling your batters eye can be the difference between a ball caught at the track and a game winning home run. I myself am used to the classic batting styles of the MVP baseball games, but I would have to say that this years new batting style is definitley worth trying. Basically how the swing stick works is as soon as the pitcher is about to release the ball, you pull back on the right stick and when you want to swing you can either release the right stick for a contact swing, or push forward to swing for power. I myself, would advise swinging for contact unless the ball is in the batters eye or you need a huge home run. The bunting system is fairly simple, all you have to do is push up on the right thumstick and use the LT and RT buttons to aim. Unfortunatly, the baserunning is not as simple as bunting. There have been multiple times where I want my player to go from 1st to 3rd on a single, but I made the mistake of pressing LT twice and my runner rounded third and plowed over the catcher. The catcher rolled around like some sort of crazy break dancer for a while and then showed the ball to the umpire. The online play is very good and I play it a lot. The one thing that I have noticed about when the catcher gets plowed over is that you can easily go from first to third. I once experienced this playing against an idiot named "dumb an dumber." So what happened was, he plowed over my catcher, the catcher then rolled around and held the ball in front of the umps face for ten seconds while dumb an dumbers runner ran to third. Of course the entire time I was screaming and yelling at the catcher. Other than that, the online play is great. The fielding, however, is not so great. I have had multiple experiences where the hitter hits a ball between the second baseman and the right fielder. I start using my second basemans turbo to go catch the ball, but he veers off his path and crashes into the cutoff man. While all of this is happening, right fielder randomly dives for the ball and the ball rolls slowly past him. By this time the runner is at second. My right fielder, second basemen, shortstop, and center fielder are all running absent mindedly towards the ball. They all crash into each other, some being knocked over and some just standing there like they had forgotten what they are supposed to be doing. By the time the fielder has picked up the ball the runner has scored and the announcers are criticizing you for letting them score on a routinely hit fly ball. Other than these few things, the game is fantastic. I would advise playing on rookie at first and then moving on to Pro. Then, start playing online. Although, earlier I griped about the fielding, the veering out of the way is the only real problem. If anybody who has read this review and owns this game or is going to play this game, send me a comment with your gamertag and I will send you a friend request and then maybe we'll play each other. My gamertag is "monkeymafia22" and I am online a lot. I would give this game a B overall. + Great new hitting + Great online play + Fantastic offline modes - Bad fielding - Bad baserunning I hope you found this review helpfull and hope to see some of you on Xbox Live.


More information about Major League Baseball 2K6
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 1535 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution