More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Mega Man 9 Member Review for the Xbox360

BigTruckSeries By:
BigTruckSeries
11/14/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Inti 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

This review is spot on.

In the old days of NES and Super NES, there were numerous games that I enjoyed, but never could complete because of their ridiculously difficult requirements.

Conquest of the Crystal Palace,  Mega Man, Zelda II, Siecross, Section Z, etc, etc

The only Mega Man game I've ever sat down with and tried to master was Mega Man X. I got all the way to the end boss, Sigma and I believe I beat the game after grueling hours of trial and error.

Mega Man games specifically, are hard because they aren't very long. There are only 8 bosses or so, and the game can be beaten by someone who masters it in less than one sitting - possibly two.  Back in the 80's, games tended to be like this:  examples include mostly Capcom and Konami games.

But nowadays, if I buy a game I want it to be more updated for play on a next generation system, rather than being completely retro.  I'd accept the retro graphics of Mega Man 9 on Nintendo DS or gameboy SP, but if I'd buy a 2D game it better have 3D graphics - a perfect example is CONTRA: Shattered Soldier or Gradius V. It is difficult to change the formula of a retro game, but it is possible to do and be successful...Nintendo for instance has been selling a shitload of retro games repacked to look new: New Super Mario Bros, Zelda (anything) etc.

From this review, I can infer that this game is for hardcore Mega Man fans only.


More information about Mega Man 9
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 925 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution