More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Postal 3 Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
11/27/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Akella 
DEVELOPER Running With Scissors 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Its gory, you can pee on things

The Bad: Extremely dated visuals with slowdown and bugs galore, potty humor that is somehow unfunny, broken movement, poor hit detection, lame weapons, same formula repeated over and over again, why bother?

Man where do I start. From a movie directed by the anti-Christ of video game movies to a game series that just refuses to improve on itself (whether on purpose or not is a mystery), Postal is just one terrible game series. Why Running With Scissors keeps making these stupid games with no improvements is beyond my comprehension.

Postal tries to shoehorn in raunchy and potty mouth humor, but does it in a way where it's not funny. How that is possible is a mystery as well. From using porn actor Ron Jeremy's likeness to dumb ideas like rampaging social justice soccer moms crashing porn shops, porn star signings, and other conventions with the lead mom looking like Sarah Palin. These ideas are dumb and should never exist. It doesn't help that Postal III tries to poorly copy Quintin Tarantino's art style. If playing as a guy named Dude and running around trying to help people, but constantly failing because he ends up killing everyone, sounds fun this game makes it unplayable.

At first it didn't seem so bad during the tutorial until you realized the game has poor hit detection. When my reticle is over something and bullets don't go anywhere near it, that is a serious issue and lazy game design. I honestly doubt RWS even play tested a smidgen of this game. On top of all this  they used the outdated Source engine so the game looks over 5 years old. There are even sounds and effects pulled directly from Half-Life 2! Movement isn't right either like it's still in alpha. Not to mention some of the weapons in this game are just dumb. A vacuum that sucks up garbage and launches it? This isn't Ratchet & Clank. Throwing feral cats? Using your own pee as a weapon? Not only are these stupid ideas but they aren't even done right!

The biggest issue is that everything is so mundane. Each "level" consists of the same thing over and over. Just run around killing these people. Nothing ever changes and it doesn't help that the game is really hard and enemies respawn until you complete the goal. How a developer can screw up this bad is just unheard of. It feels like Uwe Boll himself made this game despite the developers making fun of him in the game. Postal is a homeless person living in the streets of the game world and some people stop to talk to it, but realize that it is just a foul mouthed unfunny piece of crap. Absolutely no thought or effort was put into this game.

There's not much else to say, but don't play this or you will regret it. I wasted a whole hour trying to like this game, but just couldn't. Do yourself a favor and play any other game but this one. Even if you get this for free it isn't worth your time or hard drive space. Just ignore this piece of crap.

(Based on PC version)


More information about Postal 3
 
Postal 3
emptyemptyemptyemptyempty
Views: 1148 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution