More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Prey Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
06/16/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE First-Person Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 8 
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER Human Head 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Great use of the Doom 3 engine, interesting story, nice selection of weapons, portals and gravity is fun

The Bad: Tommy is a jerk, not very challenging even on toughest difficulty, multiplayer is something to yawn at, Combat is too straight forward and simple, story could have been fleshed out more, not worth the 10 year wait

I'm very disappointed that we waited 10 years for this. Being 10 years in development this game could have been out of this world (ha-ha) but instead we get a straight forward run 'n' gun FPS. That doesn't make this bad though. Prey introduces the awesome portal engine and it just amazes you through the first few levels. Prey's puzzle solving is simple and uses its gravity engine as well where you'll be flipping rooms around. This game is also very easy even on hard and this is do to the fact you NEVER get a game over if you die. Tommy is a Cherokee Indian so his grandfather takes him to their "dead world" and Tommy can then project his soul outside his body and this adds to more puzzle solving elements since he can go through barriers his body can’t. When you die you do this "death walk" where you shoot enemies flying around to gain more health then you enter your body right where you died.

Despite all this Prey has one of the best stories a FPS has had in years. You'll definitely play through this twice and it's worth it at its bargain bin price now. The multiplayer I hear is crap but I don't have XBL Gold so I can't say. If you want a great FPS experience on your 360 or PC pick this baby up.


More information about Prey
 
B Revolution report card
Views: 848 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus