More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Resident Evil 6 Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
12/18/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Horror 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Capcom 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Lots of content, fun co-op, varied boss fights, pushes the consoles to their max

The Bad: Constant scrounging for ammo is frustrating, doesn't feel like RE at all, boss fights are tedious, poorly implemented quick time events, confusing story, ugly dated graphics

The Resident Evil franchise made a huge comeback with RE4, but Capcom has abused this style of RE like they do with all their other franchises. Resident Evil 5 was already disappointing because it was too similar to RE4, RE6 takes it even further by making the game 100% action oriented, but trying to keep the survival horror elements of the last game. Either make it an action game or make it survival horror, you can't make it both. There are so many things wrong with this game that I couldn't even finish the second campaign.

The story is about the C-virus that is being used a terrorist attack, I honestly can't tell you who did it or did I even hear Umbrella's name once through half the game that I played. This C-virus allows the zombies to mutate when damaged. That's great and all, but give me some freaking ammo to kill them with. This is the biggest issue with the game, there isn't enough ammo. I had to constantly scrounge for ammo like past games, but they throw 10-15 enemies at you and this becomes frustrating. I never had my max capacity of ammo, I always had half a clip in each gun then running around meleeing enemies until they dropped some ammo. Oh good, 5 rounds for my shotgun, it takes more than that to take some enemies down, so it's back to square one. I literally ran out of ammo at the wrong times and had to exploit the game to survive, that is not fun at all and is a broken game. Throwing three strong enemies at me plus a bunch of small ones with just two clips isn't survival horror, that's survival ammo.

If that isn't enough, this game is meant to be played co-op only. The AI does a terrible job covering your back when you run out of ammo. They peck at the enemy here and there with a round or two and it can take over 10 minutes for the AI to take a large enemy down for you. I also found the quick time events poorly implemented and the animations for getting wounded are just awful and frustrating. Each character does this stupid drawn out animation that completely rips you from the game, when you get back up you get hit again, plays another long animation where you lose control, then again with another hit and your dead. This is so stupid and frustrating. Why rip the control away from me and play some stupid long animation that can't be interrupted?

The boss fights are the most interesting in this game, but also the most repetitive. You will have to use the same strategy for every boss several times over instead of just two or three times before it is dead. The final boss for Leon's campaign needed the same quick time event performed 10 times. That is extremely tedious and not fun at all. As you have seen me explain each character has their own 4 hour campaign that explains the story in busted up pieces. It makes no sense, the enemies are silly (why do these zombies have guns, parachute from helicopters, and drive tanks?) and the new characters are hardly likeable. The story just didn't make any sense, sure there were few shocking moments, but why trudge through these four campaigns for it? At this point Resident Evil needs to go back to its roots and veer away from this action nonsense.

There are a few modes like Mercenaries where you can earn more skill points. The skill system is terrible as well because I beat one and a half campaigns and only had enough skill points to upgrade three skills. It takes so long to upgrade these skills, what happened to the weapon upgrade system? That was a lot more fun. The game doesn't even feel like Resident Evil, but like an action game it isn't starring RE characters. Some times it felt like a setting from Gears of War, some times it felt like something from a generic sci-fi shooter. Lots of boring cement buildings, nothing interesting at all to look at. It doesn't help that the graphics are awful save for some nice lighting effects. The textures look like muddy stickers, and the game just gets boring and monotonous halfway through the first campaign.

Is this worth playing at all? Sure, in co-op only because the AI can't cover you and is worthless. The quick time events are poorly implemented, the boss fights are fun yet repetitious, and the game is just boring to look at. It also doesn't help that it never once felt like a Resident Evil game, and the constant scrounging for ammo is just stupid. If you are a hardcore fan stay way, if you are a new comer stay away. Just go play RE4 or 5 one more time and wait for the next game.


More information about Resident Evil 6
 
Resident Evil 6
fullfullemptyemptyempty
Views: 1377 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus