More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Rock Band 2 Member Review for the Xbox360

swangtheugly By:
swangtheugly
01/02/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Electronic Arts / MTV Games 
DEVELOPER Harmonix 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Lyrics, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

I like it.  Its a fun game to play at parties.  Its fun to play alone.  Over all its a fun game.  All the downloaded content from the first game transfers to the second so there is no need to repurchase your favorite songs or redownload them.  The upgrades to the instruments are nice.  The guitar feels like it was better made and they added an optic sensor to calibrate the game to your tv.  The drums are wireless and have the abilities to add cymbals.  The mic is the same as far as I can see.

The game is good they added a few extra features to it for online and local play but nothing i need to reiterate from the GR review.  As far as the game play its pretty much the same.  The same as all the games like this one.  The added features were a bonus to me  but the real reason I got the second game was for the instruments. 

I found myself saying who the F@$# are they when it came to the set list errr songs in the game.  There were alot of song that I did recognize and have alot of fun butchering the vocals.  I have noticed a trend in the weekly releases though.  It seem as if they put a song from a good album in the game and then later down the road they release the entire album to download.  Cool but costly, thats right I do believe that I have paid for this game 4 times over already. 

When it comes ot the latest release from the creators of the original Guitar Hero I would NOT pass it up.  Just keep in mind that it is very costly when it comes to the good old wallet.  If you do have the original Rock Band and would like to upgrade to 2 choose wisely.  Buying the game disk itself will get you what you want but if you want the new drum set and the wireless guitar then its probably cheaper to buy the special edition.  Hell you could always sell the old stuff on eBay, and having an extra guitar is always a plus. 


More information about Rock Band 2
 
A Revolution report card
Views: 898 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution