More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Shrek the Third Member Review for the Xbox360

XboxLiveLover By:
XboxLiveLover
06/11/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER 7 Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Cartoon Violence, Crude Humor

What do these ratings mean?

New Shrek not quite dreck

By: XboxLiveLover
June 11th, 2007

Great graphics can't mask lack of originality, fun.

While the dollars are being raked in by the bucketload at the box office, the summer of sequels is being labelled a disappointment.

Sadly, the same can be said about the games.

Shrek the Third is the latest game to tag on to the summer blockbuster movie game. And like Spiderman 3, the game looks good, but the gameplay is considerably uninspired.

This isn't a bad game, and fans of Shrek, especially kids, will still get a kick out of it. It's just that there are not a lot of fun things to do in this game.

The game is a standard action game that follows the script, loosely, of the movie. You play mostly as Shrek, but also as Fiona, Donkey, Puss, Arthur and Sleeping Beauty at various times, and each has special powers.

It's your usual platform, puzzle, combat, collection format, the problem is the puzzles, combat and collection aren't exactly challenging, inventive or amusing.

You collect fairy dust to boost your powers and strengths, and even though there's a lot in here, you will pretty much waltz through the game.

There are a few diversions that are fun, like using cannons to blow up castles, but for the most part, it's extremely standard fare.

There's the Shrek "theme" to it, playing in fairytale locales and subtle humour, like a boss battle that's played out as a musical, and that satisfies the real Shrek enthusiasts.

But none of it is clever enough to make it a game you just have to keep playing.

There is some value in here, though, as there's a two-player mode to play along with the single-player story mode, and a collection of mini games that has you chasing frogs or playing shuffleboard, amongst other things. Again, there was a lot of potential in the mini-games, but not a lot of payoff. I did like the mini-game where you have to defend your beach against pirates, though, if only because I take it to be a cheeky metaphor for the summer movie business.

I would imagine it's a tough task to be let in on a movie's super-secret storyline in advance and design a game that's true to the movie -- that the studio likes, that looks good, and that plays inventively. That may be why so many games based on these big movies are so mediocre; the creative development time just isn't there.

Still, it's what you'd expect from a summer blockbuster -- some mindless entertainment -- only this will cost you a bit more than the box-office bill.

What’s right:
Shrek humour, looks great.
 
What’s wrong:
Not very inventive, challenging or fun.


More information about Shrek the Third
 
C+ Revolution report card
Views: 1518 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution