More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed Member Review for the Xbox360

StandardStache By:
StandardStache
09/23/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER LucasArts 
DEVELOPER LucasArts 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I was pleasantly surprised when I played this game. After a few reviews, I half expected this game to be garbage. It was, in fact, a very enjoyable game and I would rate it among the best Star Wars games to date.

Part of the problem with this game is its name. It boldly says Force Unleashed. In reality, it is more like a dog that is switched from a traditional leash to one of those extending ones; it may feel unleashed to the dog at first until the owner pushes a button and the leash snaps back. In the game, force lightning feels like force lightning should, push feels about right, and grip borderlines the unleashed idea. But there is another catch. Several enemies are resistant to the force, some can block it, and a couple have force-proof shields. This was, of course, a way to increase the difficulty and force players to vary their playing methods. It does not break the game but it does take away from the experience.

In short, this isn't the revolution you were looking for. Think of this game as what the Jedi Knight games were trying to be. This is just an evolution of the Star Wars games. If you are interested in the game, go ahead and get it. It is still great fun to play. Tossing stormtroopers around never seems to get old.

Pros:

  • Best use of the force to date.
  • Fans of Star Wars will enjoy the story.
  • Clean, smooth combat and combo system.
  • DMM exceeds expectations.
  • Euphoria is not as rediculous as we had feared.
  • Exotic locales.

Cons:

  • Autotargeting has a mind of its own.
  • Force not really unleashed.
  • Boss fights can be slow and unintuitive at times.
  • Exotic locales exist just for chance to stand out.
  • Sometimes graphics look good, other times cutscenes look Jaws 3D bad.


More information about Star Wars: The Force Unleashed
 
comments powered by Disqus