More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Table Tennis Member Review for the Xbox360

LinksOcarina By:
LinksOcarina
08/23/06
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Rockstar 
DEVELOPER Rockstar San Diego 
RELEASE DATE  
E What do these ratings mean?

Well, now that the Final Fantasy review group is done, it's time to take on my new toy, the 360.

With 4 games to cover in my current collection, I might as well start with this one, Table Tennis from Rockstar.

And to say I was dissapointed would be an understatement. Mainly because I played this game before, and it looked something like this...


http://www.e-oss.net/albums/album09/pong.sized.png


Yeah, thats right. This is the milleniums Pong. And despite the addicting gameplay and the nice facelift, it really hasn't changed all that much from the simplicity of the game, and without a friend or 2, not really worth it either.


Graphics- Graphicly I am not dissapointed, but I am also not that impressed. Unlike the games I have seen, my TV is not HD supportive, and I don't think I will be affording one any time soon. Nevertheless, the game looks great, despite the fact it all takes place in a few pre-rendered areas, and you have 11 cool looking Tennis players from all over the world. They look good, and the animation is solid and dead on, but not that impressed unfortanatly.

Final Score- B-

Gameplay- The gameplay is easy to learn, addicting, and fun. That being said, it is also repetitive and kind of boring after a while. Of course, when I had friends over, this was not the case. The different color codes for the shots make it a nice touch, and the different type of swings, from the back handed shot, the soft shot, the power hits, etc, all add a lot of strategy in an otherwise simplistic game.

The repetitiveness comes from the type of shots you do, which is limited to maybe 6-7 types. Once you can exploit a computer weakness, you may just shoot that type of shot to win your matches. Also, most of the time the computer will be to agressive, and knock the ball off the table, giving you a point. It happened less in the harder difficulties, but it still occured.

The game is designed to be a multi-player experience. Playing it with friends yielded a lot more fun on my part. It was great to play on a single screen, have some fun for a few hours, and kick it back and enjoy a game. In the process we also unlocked a few other achievements, which is always a nice bonus. This is a multi-player game at heart.

But, even in college, friends are not always avalible to play. That, plus they prefer the real thing usually. So for what it's worth, its a great game with 4 people, but a bad game with 1.

Final Score- C

Sound- The music is kind of boring, although each player has their own techno theme song. The sound effects are good, but also repetitive. Especially the little pings from the ball itself. Everything is fine here, just repetitive and kind of annoying after a while.

Final Score- C-

Overall- Rockstar makes great games, that is for sure. Is this one of them? Well, with 4 people, definitly. this is probably one of the best multi-player games since Halo and Mario Party. Is it for sport fans? Sure, get them off Madden 07 for a while, and they will enjoy it for a bit. Other than that, this game really isen't that appealing to single players, casual gamers, or even some hardcore gamers. Rockstar makes a winner, but only for a certain crowd. But I guess that was the point, to make a game that had no violence in it. They succeeded, but in doing so, limited their audience somewhat.

Final Score- C

Overall Score- C


More information about Table Tennis
 
C Revolution report card
Views: 1497 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution