More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Tenchu Z Member Review for the Xbox360

killthemall4444 By:
killthemall4444
06/24/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER From 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Partial Nudity, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

It's rather easy to decipher why reviewers haven't been too fond of Tenchu Z. First of all the game plays exactly like all the other Tenchu and needless to say that isn't a good thing at this point. Tenchu is a series that could have evolved to something really good but the developers are too lazy to try and be different. Let me just say this before I start ripping Tenchu Z a new one. I had fun with this game it's my biggest guilty pleasure game in quite some time. Despite it's numerous failures as a game I still found playing through it to be a good time but there is no doubt in my mind that it is still a bad game no matter how you spin it.

 The graphics aren't flat out awful but there is no doubt that they fall into the category of mediocre and at times plain ugly. There is little variety in the levels and you'll soon be repeating the same level over and over again. You'll get that feeling of deja vu as you realize you are doing the same exact missions in the same exact levels over and over again.

 The game play is the standard Tenchu affair. The X button is your only ally and stealth kills are really cool. The combat still sucks ass. There really isn't much to it. The game itself isn't much of a struggle and is without a doubt the easiest game I've played all year. Most of the missions you do involving killing some person. You can easily beat any level in under minute by simply rushing to the target and killing him.

 The enemy a.i. is without a doubt the worst I've ever encountered in a videogame. It is just hilariously awful. Enemies that see you will give up pursuit the second you turn a corner. Enemies can smell you if you fell in a cesspool but they can't see you killing the guard that is standing about ten feet in front of them. They can't hear their friend’s screams as they are gutted directly behind them. I mean there are just so many things wrong with the a.i. I couldn't even begin to describe them.

 Well in summary all I can say is that the a.i is close to broken and as a whole Tenchu Z is a mockery to the stealth genre. Admittedly it's something that still can be a bit of shameful fun but there is no doubt that it is a crap game.


More information about Tenchu Z
 
D+ Revolution report card
Views: 1294 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus