More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dragonborn Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
06/04/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER Bethesda 
RELEASE DATE  
M What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Riding dragons, new shouts armor and weapons, gorgeous new locale, being back in Morrowind, great story, huge world to explore

The Bad: Short main quest, not enough content overall, riding dragons is more restrictive than you think

The splashing of waves, the grass between your toes, the ash in your eyes, and Dunmer at your feet. Ah, it's nice to be back in Morrowind! Iwas surprised when I found out Dragonborn took place in Solstheim which is a volcanic island just off the coast of Morrowind. You arrive there due to a strange occult thing happening. People are building relics in their sleep, basically sleep walking and building. You ask around about a guy named Miraak and people say he sounds familiar, but they can't quite remember. As you ask around in the main city Raven Rock, you will be greeted with Devin Mallory's brother, and various other people who are very interesting to talk to.

I first have to mention that Dragonborn has some of the best art in any Elder Scrolls game. When you start getting the Black Books and travel to Apocrypha (Hermaes Mora's territory) you will be stunned. It's very Lovecraftian with the Lurker and Seeker enemies. There are strange tunnels that move, walls made of sticks, floors covered in paper with arcane writing, and strange magic and objects. I loved these areas and enjoyed them immensely. However, the main quest line is super short, there are more side quests here which is good I guess. The final fight with Miraak (not a spoiler, it's obvious) is very challenging and you get to ride freaking dragons! This is probably the most powerful thing added to an Elder Scrolls game. I love the new shouts such as Bend Will. This will make enemies fight along side you. The new Bonemold and Chitin armor looks awesome, as well as some new weapons. There's quite a bit here and is a nice chunk of game and a great final goodbye to Skyrim.

Many of the quests are more puzzle related and quite challenging. It was nice to be really challenged in exploration in Dragonborn. One final quest has you finding cubes in an old Dwemer ruin. You have to place them in a certain order and run around finding them to open new parts up. The enemies are challenging and I found it all quite fun. There's plenty of Morrowind lore here to for long time fans, and new comers who don't know much about it.

I warn you though, you need to be at least level 20 to start this. I came in at level 7 and got my butt handed to me by the Ash Spawn, the first enemies you will encounter. I died in just one hit, so be careful. I also hated how there was no place to train for smithing, and there's only one major town. At least you can fast travel to and from Skyrim via the map and not by boat every time. I was also upset that you didn't get to ride dragons until the final quest and it's very briefly. Also be warned, Miraak will steal all your dragon souls if you kill dragons in Solstheim. He's a real bastard.

Overall, Dragonborn is a solid and final DLC to Skyrim. It is much better than Dawnguard in a sense that the story is more interesting, but there aren't two sides to play. Being able to ride dragons is a major addition to the game, the enemies are interesting and challenging, the art looks fantastic, and the lore is great.


More information about The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dragonborn
 
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dragonborn
fullfullfullfullempty
Views: 1317 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution