More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Turok Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
03/13/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 16 
PUBLISHER Touchstone 
DEVELOPER Propaganda 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Cool weapons, decent graphics, knife kills are fun, dinos!

The Bad: Soldiers are boring, boring level design, generic multiplayer, B grade sci-fi setting and story

I had super high hopes for this game after being a fan of the N64 games, and I was quickly let down. Instead of being deep and rich in game play and story like a next-gen game should be we just get a generic B grade sci-fi type setting and story. The gun play varies from knifing dinos and soldiers to mounting turrets and killing a few huge bosses.
                    The weapons are pretty cool like the plasma rifle, and mini-gun which you can set down and use it like an auto-turret. The graphics are pretty decent but rely too much on the U3 engine to make it look pretty. The story is pretty simple: You and your squad crash on a dino planet and have to get off...yeah pretty boring. While the animations for the knife kills look cool, and you can attach grenades to dinos and blow them up it gets old really fast. You'll either be running through jungles, or you'll be running through bases.
                        It never changes from that switch off and not to mention the unbalanced checkpoints, and uneven fire fights. I didn't even bother with multiplayer since it just consists of mediocre match ups. Rent this for the weekend and you'll have some fun, but don't expect anything to advance the series or breathe new life. Oh yeah, and the achievements are all wrapped around multiplayer so you might want to consider that.


More information about Turok
 
B- Revolution report card
Views: 847 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus