More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Screencheat Review
The first FPS in history where looking at your friends’ screens isn’t cheating; it’s a requirement.
More Previews
PREVIEWS NHL 2K Preview
NHL 2K has a timely return on mobile devices for your on-the-go hockey fix.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Velvet Assassin Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
Ivory_Soul
06/23/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER SouthPeak Games 
DEVELOPER Replay Studios, ML Enterprises 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

The Good: Beautiful visuals, nice WWII setting

The Bad: Boring story, broken stealth mechanics, technical flaws

I have really given this game some time and I tried to forgive it. I rented this on Xbox 360 when it first came out and gave up after the second level. I bought this as a cheap Steam sale about a year ago and have just had it sitting on my HDD since then. I have gone back here and there to try to beat or continue this game. I just can't do it and have finally given up. After two years of giving this game a chance I doubt it will become better over time. The paper-thin story, poor stealth mechanics, and technical flaws just bring this promising game down.

You play as a British spy infiltrating Germany during World War II and other occupied territories for...I don't know really. The story is presented in flashbacks that don't really explain much other than why Violet is at that current location. You have various goals you have to complete, but there are enemies in between that you have to kill off or avoid. A stealth game has to have great stealth mechanics like sneaking, killing, and gadgets which Velvet fails in every category. First off, she moves way to slow when crouching. You can never catch up to enemies who are walking because they just leave her in the dust. This is extremely difficult when you are trying to quickly kill someone before you are spotted. The kill moves are pretty cool, but you have to be in the exact position the game needs you to be before you can trigger it. You also have to be extremely close which is ridiculous. This isn't Splinter Cell where you can trigger the kill at a reasonable distance.

You get a few items to help you kill these Nazis. You can use Morphine shots to become invisible, freeze time, and do an automatic kill. This is useful for a guard that has spotted so you can take him down really quick. You get a silenced pistol, but ammo is hard to come by so use it wisely. Some times you can also use a Nazi uniform as a disguise, but if you get too close to enemies they will recognize you. The game has shadow stealth which means if you hide in the shadows you will have a blue aura around you and enemies won't see you. This game has some of the dumbest enemy AI I have ever seen. You can whistle to lure a guard to some shadows but he won't see you even though you are two feet in front of him. If you are seen and try to hide the enemies know exactly where you are and you can't hide from them. What kind of lame crap is that?

The game looks good and has a nice visual art style, but there are some technical flaws here. Animations are pretty bad with some terrible sound effects. The footsteps all sounds the same and the animations just seems floaty and canned. I also found some of the guards patrols to be very long and the overall patterns are hard to work around. It's difficult to figure out how to take out enemies because there are no natural hints or obvious paths most of the time.

Overall, Velvet Assassin was a promising stealth action game set in World War II but has a pointless story, broken stealth mechanics, and some technical flaws. The game looks good, but other than that there is no reason for you to pick this up. Rent this if you want to play a stealth game with a sexy protagonist, otherwise look elsewhere.
 

(Based on PC version)


More information about Velvet Assassin
 
Velvet Assassin
fullemptyemptyemptyempty
Views: 274 Review rating:
Reviews by other members

comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution