More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Virtua Fighter 5 Member Review for the Xbox360

By:
waterchan
12/08/07
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER AM R&D Dept. #2 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I'm not going to write a detailed review here -- plenty of those on Gamespot, IGN and the like. Just wanted to comment on one thing:

"Some load screens are actually longer than the fights themselves, (seriously, I timed it) which is annoying enough in Arcade and Quest modes, but is a huge pain when playing online."

Wrong. Dead wrong. Seriously, either the reviewer's console is broken, or he was drunk while timing the load times. I play regularly online, and the loading screens take 10 seconds tops. Even if the reviewer is completely clueless about the game, there's no way he can be defeated in 10 seconds. The "Fight... Ready? Go!" call at the beginning of each fight take 3 seconds by itself.  I've never seen any other reviews complain about the loading times either.

The few things the reviewer is accurate about here is the rudimentary online feature. Yes, it could use some improvements, such as a lobby and a rematch option. However, the reviewer fails to mention how comparatively lag free the online play is compared to other fighting games, like DoA.

I give it a B+ for the same, deep, demanding fighting system that makes it next to impossible to button mash and win, unlike most other fighters. If it weren't for the limited features of online play, and the exclusion of the incredible tutorial that was in VF4: Evolution, I would give it an A.


More information about Virtua Fighter 5
 
B+ Revolution report card
Views: 1357 Review rating:
comments powered by Disqus

More On GameRevolution